CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 03:52 PM   #1
LostStudent
New Member
portfolio
Stanley
LaPlace, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Attaching objects to a motion path!?

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and new to Maya.
[IMG]/Users/student/Desktop/Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 7.53.47 PM.png[/IMG]
[IMG]/Users/student/Desktop/Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 7.53.47 PM.tif[/IMG]
]Currently, I'm working on a class assignment and I'm having problems with using a motion path.

[IMG]/Volumes/W0356600 1/Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 7.54.09 PM.png[/IMG]

Basically, all I want to do attach my object to the motion path witout the controls, skeleton, and geometry separating. If anyone has any suggestions or advise I would appreciate it.

Thanks!
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:56 PM   #2
gramulho
Veteran
portfolio
Joe Espindola
Problem Solver
http://www.img.tv
Brasilia, Brazil
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to gramulho
Thumbs up

Your screenshots are not showing! Could you please repost them ?

Usually, when you have something rigged, you only want to move the controllers and the joints. Because if you also translate, scale or rotate the Meshes, they will "Double Transform" (meaning, the joints will transform them, and also the motion path, making them spin off faster as time goes by).

This is usually my structure:

grp_char (grp_ are empty groups)
* grp_geo (here i keep all my geometry, never touch it again)
* grp_rig (all things realated to the rig)
* * grp_joints (all my joints)
* * grp_controllers (all my controllers, they move (translate, scale and rotate by constraining) all the joints and have a master controller that moves all other controllers.

now, if i want to attach something to the motion path, i would attach my main controller only, it will move all my other controllers and joints, thus making them move the meshes as well.

Thats a rule of thumb when rigging.
__________________
.
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:56 PM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.