CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 07:32 AM   #1
Mickolboy
Veteran
portfolio
Mick
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 40
Question Any Suggestions For Mid To High End Graphic Card With Maya 2013 / Mudbox Etc.?

My Quadro 5600 has just died on me & I can't afford another one like that. Could I use a gaming card? Some folk say that the GeForce GTX range is a good choice or even the ATI FirePro 7900, what GTX card would do the job or is it better to opt for a mid range Quadro? (budget around $700). I normally do a lot of rendering with mid to high poly count, Mudbox & some work with AE & Photoshop.

My set up is:
P6t Deluxe V2 (oc to 3.4)
i7-920 Processor
12 gb memory Mushkin
Thermaltake 750w power unit
Noctua twin fan
Dual monitors

Really appreciate any help.

Cheers

Last edited by Mickolboy : 04-10-2013 at 10:19 AM.
 
Old 04-10-2013, 07:59 AM   #2
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,324
if i had the money i would go for a titan... or the new little one...

for less money i would grab a 580 with 3gb of ram...
__________________
...

Last edited by oglu : 04-10-2013 at 08:05 AM.
 
Old 04-10-2013, 02:17 PM   #3
i-d
Expert
 
i-d's Avatar
portfolio
Igor Dvorski
Zagreb, Croatia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 236
I have gtx 580 at home and it's a
pretty decent card. There are some minor
problems in maya but nothing serious really.
Mudbox works great and PS & AE no problemos too.
 
Old 04-10-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
Mickolboy
Veteran
portfolio
Mick
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks for your advice, I've seen a couple of quadro 5800's going for around 700$ (each) on ebay, don't know if this sounds dodgy. What about a GTX 680 with 4gigs?

Last edited by Mickolboy : 04-10-2013 at 08:15 PM.
 
Old 04-10-2013, 08:23 PM   #5
i-d
Expert
 
i-d's Avatar
portfolio
Igor Dvorski
Zagreb, Croatia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 236
you buy a quadro for a 700$ for sure
 
Old 04-11-2013, 07:40 AM   #6
twosheds
occasional frequenter
portfolio
AJ
Polygon Mangler
Florida, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 389
Well I'm using an EVGA GTX 680 with 4 GB vram and I find it's more than sufficient for all I do.

Mudbox is a pretty quick responding little app as it is, and when it comes to moving heavy models around and sculpting, my GTX 285 did great too.

But the real issue is video ram, and Mudbox will eat it up very quickly. It has some options for dealing with heavy video ram scenes, but the best bet with Mudbox is to get as much vram as you can.

I agree with oglu - I'd love to have a Titan...

As for Maya... well I'm a Softimage and Mudbox user and just happened to notice "Mudbox" in the thread title here . I'm sure a GTX 560, 580, etc would do fine with Maya.
 
Old 04-11-2013, 08:16 AM   #7
Mickolboy
Veteran
portfolio
Mick
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks for your advice. Do you think it's worth splashing out on a Quadro 4000 or sticking to the cheaper GTX 680?
 
Old 04-11-2013, 12:00 PM   #8
lostparanoia
Care bear
Mikael
VFX artist - 3D
Malmö, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 636
In my experience quadro cards have a lot more issues with maya than the geforce equivalents. I would go for the geforce.
__________________
"No, the movement is good, it just has to travel faster from spot A to spot B in the same amount of time."
 
Old 04-11-2013, 03:19 PM   #9
Mickolboy
Veteran
portfolio
Mick
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 40
Ok, cheers, I'll probably get the 680!
 
Old 04-11-2013, 05:17 PM   #10
Schempp
Know-it-All
portfolio
Eric Schempp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 323
I can only agree with lostparanoia. had 2 quadro cards and both have performed worse/had far more bugs and problems then the 6-7 geforce cards i have had.
__________________
Voxels for dinner.
_____________
http://esvfx.wordpress.com/ maya vfx blog
 
Old 04-11-2013, 09:59 PM   #11
twosheds
occasional frequenter
portfolio
AJ
Polygon Mangler
Florida, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 389
Used to be you had to get a Quadro if you wanted a lot of v-ram, but that's not the case anymore.
They had a good run, they milked it for all it was worth, but it's pretty evident to everyone by now that they can build monstrously powerful video cards for less than $3,000.

Nvidia's gaming cards, i.e., Ge-Force and GTX, have never let me down, never left me wanting for more. They've kept up very well with our needs as CG artists... and as gamers.
 
Old 04-12-2013, 10:25 AM   #12
Mickolboy
Veteran
portfolio
Mick
Madrid, España
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks for your reply. I remember my first build 11 years ago, I got a GeForce Sparkle, can't remember the name, something insanely low on power which cost around 50€, of course very slow with Maya, but incredibly, it had the smoothest orbiting characteristics (with the original Sparkle driver) than even the FX 5600. Gonna go with a GTX 680 4gb.
 
Old 04-12-2013, 10:25 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.