Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 03-27-2013, 03:58 PM   #1
gennt
portfolio
Albania

Unhappy Beginner Help in Maya 2013

Hello Guys

I am a beginner in Maya 2013 and i am training on learning the software but i have come across a problem which is making my workflow very difficult. My problem is in measurements. I understand how Units work in Maya as opposed to say 3ds max and all but here is my issue. Let's say i make a square of with 5/5/5 units (which translates in 5/5/5 cm with my settings) and i doing an extrude to one of the faces of the square but in my scale values it is still 5/5/5 units, it seems that it is not showing my original measurements of my object. I am trying to make a very precise interior scene but with these problems my whole measurements are turning out incorrect and i am getting furstrated with this :( .

I hope anyone can help me with this issue and hopefully my english was good enough to make it clear.
Thank you guys

Old 03-28-2013, 08:55 AM   #2
farcue
billy wood
Faro, Canada

Maya's funny.
When you first create an object you have the option to set things like height, width depth, divisions, etc. A primitive object's createNode [ look in the ChannelBox or Hypergraph ] will remain editable until you delete history.

But Maya doesn't display detailed measurements for complex objects by default.

It is possible to query virtually any aspect of your scene with MEL.
But when you're modeling things with specific dimensions in mind it's mostly up to you to keep track as you go:
-use the transformation value fields available in the status line
-make use of orthographic views
-set Grid preferences so that where it appears in scene and what information it displays are useful to your work
-make use of "snapping" behaviour [ for example: hold down the "x" key to snap to Grid ].
-type numbers into the extrude widget
-use the Duplicate Special options