CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 01:47 AM   #1
linkseyi
Veteran
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Maya Mental Ray leaks memory; won't render scene

I have a scene that was working and rendering fine a couple of days ago. Lately, however, every time I render it, the window appears white, and Maya's memory usage jumps to as much as it can access (about 1.7GB). Eventually this causes Maya to crash. I have tried batch rendering and IPR rendering and they both have the same result. I have also reset the render settings and tried hiding all the geometry. I am honestly stuck on this.

Here is the scene without linked textures: https://mega.co.nz/#!XYdEkBSY!CLgOECFdeMVlCH33TJ6p7irWOJJwT98DIAI4x

It's tough because I was ready to render and now it won't for me.
 
Old 03-25-2013, 10:24 PM   #2
EdgeIcon
Veteran
 
EdgeIcon's Avatar
portfolio
Landon Ginn
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 46
I havent looked at the scene yet. however run "optimize scene" and see how that plays out. it may have excess nodes that maya doesnt need anymore for the scene.. make sure objects have clean history too.
 
Old 03-27-2013, 07:32 PM   #3
InfernalDarkness
Madness. Madness, I say!
 
InfernalDarkness's Avatar
portfolio
Sho Pi
CG arch/viz
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,591
Are you rendering with mental ray?

In a complex scene, often a few quick changes to your Render Settings can help:

1. Set your primary renderer to "Raytracing" (Render Settings, Features tab)
2. Set your Acceleration Method to BSP2 (Render Settings, Quality Tab, Raytracing section, Acceleration subsection)
3. Set your Performance for mental ray to "Export Objects on Demand" (Render Settings, Options Tab, Performance section)

Just some quick ones off the top of my head...
__________________
Commodore 64 @ 1MHz
64KB RAM
1541 Floppy Drive


"Like stone we battle the wind... Beat down and strangle the rains..."
 
Old 03-27-2013, 11:58 PM   #4
Bitter
Also Highly Corrosive
 
Bitter's Avatar
David Fer Real
Fixer of things
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,721
1.7GB is the max?

How much is on your machine?
__________________
My opinions are always my own...and maybe a friend's, but never my employer's.
 
Old 03-27-2013, 11:58 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.