XSI animator using Maya - Help!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2013   #1
XSI animator using Maya - Help!

I'm a character animator and have been using XSI for a good 7 years now. I'm starting to look at Maya for animation but I'm really struggling with the animation workflow in Maya.

I'm not talking about any fancy rigs or simulation here, just select and move an object, create keys on the channels I need with auto key, and then adjust the keys in the graph editor but as fast and as efficiently as possible.

Is there anything in Maya similar to XSI's 'Marked Parameters'? If you translate an object then the 3 translation channels are 'marked' and they can get keyed. Switch to rotation and the rotation channels are marked. This works in conjunction with auto key so you can start animating and the keying system pretty much works in the background. If you just want a single channel auto keyed you can select that channel.

Looking at Maya though and auto key only seems to work on the single channel you've changed. If I want more than 1 channel keyed it seems that I have to manually select the channels I want keyed and then hit 'S' or select 'Key Selected' from a pulldown list. It seems to be a slower and clunkier workflow than XSI.

Whilst I have plenty of gripes about animating in XSI, going over to Maya seems to be a step backwards. I can't see how my productivity will be the same if I have to animate in Maya.

Do studios build their own keying systems for Maya? I understand that the SDK for Maya goes a lot deeper than in XSI so perhaps it's possible to build a decent modern auto key system?

Old 02 February 2013   #2
One suggestion is to use two hotkeys - Shift+W to key translate channels, Shift+E to key rotates.