CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Justice league
Capital federal, Argentina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Error 0x000007b

Hi guys. I need to install the 64x version of Maya but it keeps giving me this error whenever i try to start the program. Its a problem ive been having for a long time and im really amazed that there is still no way to correct this. I even downloaded the sercive pack 2 version from the autodesk page but still nothing.
I was told that deleting the d3dx10_ files from the windows/system 32 folder and the reinstall it from the direct x page but it didnt work.
So if any of you have an insight on this please let me know.
Old 02-26-2013, 03:18 PM   #2
No longer user this account
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 278
this error means that it's attempting to start Maya 64-bit, but one of the DLL it's trying to use is 32-bit. It can happen if someone or a bad installer wrongfully copied some 32-bit DLL into Windows\System32

It's difficult to track down the problem. you could say that your windows install is kind of screwed at this point. Perhaps a system restore is in order. you can check with the x64 version of dependency walker on the maya executable to see what's getting loaded, and whether they are 32-bit or 64-bit
Old 02-27-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
A newbie
zoharl's Avatar
Wellington, New Zealand
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,821
Yes, it's a shame that you need to be a programmer in order to solve this issue. If you have a programmer friend, run maya in Visual Studio, and in VS output window you'll get all the dlls that are loaded and which one gives you trouble.

But actually there aren't many options. If you'll check maya.exe dependencies:

Dumpbin /DEPENDENTS maya.exe

you'll get:

AppVersion.dll FOUNDATION.dll AnimEngine.dll CommandEngine.dll DependEngine.dll ExtensionLayer.dll DataModel.dll 3dGraphics.dll RenderModel.dll Shared.dll SharedUI.dll HWRenderMaya.dll OGSMayaBridge.dll Base.dll adlmint.dll QtCore4.dll KERNEL32.dll USER32.dll QtGui4.dll mfc100.dll MSVCR100.dll MSVCP100.dll OLEAUT32.dll

which means qt4 and vs 2010 redistribution. Maya has its own version of Qt4 dlls in its bin directory, which leaves us with vs2010. So I suggest that you try to install:

Another test would be to empty your system environment variable %path%. Since maybe there's a path there to a 32bit dlls instead of x64.
Old 02-27-2013, 05:27 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.