Field of grass...this is killing me.

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2013   #1
Field of grass...this is killing me.

I've posted in a few other forums asking if there's a 'best way' to create a large field of grass, as in a desert grass/shrubs setting, but for the life of me I get several views but no answers. I'm still fairly new to Maya and know there's a great deal I don't have a clue about, but having to do this scene with a large (1-2 miles!) view of a grassy terrain is becoming impossible with what I've tried using Paint Effects, ground textures, etc. It bogs down my poor 4gb x64 Win7 machine to the point Mental Ray won't even try to render it. Admittedly, I doubt I'm trying to do this the way you pros would know to do it, and trying it on a machine that needs more ram.

One problem is that I need to have the perspective (camera) move upwards, perhaps 20 feet or so, which means that the illusion or appearance of the grass extending for a mile toward the distant hills has to look believable as the camera moves up a bit. Nevertheless, I'd appreciate any suggestions on how best to create a large area of grassy plain. If this kind of thing is best done in something like Vue or another terrain program, I'm willing to hear that too. But I'm hoping there's a clever and convincing way to pull it off in Maya (2013).
Thanks in advance,
JT

Old 02 February 2013   #2
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...p?f=87&t=804892

CGSociety Folding@Home team

CGSociety TF2

Old 02 February 2013   #3
Best way(s) imo.

Use rock procedural texture and mix in green grass and slightly brown grass. Tune the stone shader until you get nice looking patches (unless you are doing a gold course where brown grass is probably a no-no) - this is for the texture. It also helps cut out repeating textures.