CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 08:37 PM   #1
AmberLD
New Member
portfolio
Amber Dvorak
Student
North Central College
Schiller Park, United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Need help with moving rig

Hi! I'm new to Maya and have run into a pretty major problem with one of my character rigs. Any suggestions you might have would be very much appreciated!

I have a rig that I got online and I've changed a few parts of it: I've modified the existing hair, and added glasses, a collar, and shirt buttons. I have all of these things parented under the main geometry in the Outliner. My problem is that when I go to move the rig via the main controller (a NURBS circle around the character's feet), these objects do not move with the character. The hair does move with the character, but not to the extent that it should - it doesn't align with the character's head when I move it.

Does anyone know what the problem is here/what I might be doing wrong? I would be very grateful for any help you could provide.

Thank you!
Amber
 
Old 01-29-2013, 08:55 AM   #2
AmberLD
New Member
portfolio
Amber Dvorak
Student
North Central College
Schiller Park, United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
I hope people don't terribly mind my bumping this - I am really desperate for help on this one, as not being able to accurately move one of my main characters is putting a real dent in my production schedule!

I also wanted to add to the above: I have tried grouping these separate parts to the main body of the model (Edit>Group), and have also tried combining them (Mesh>Combine), but neither of these work.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!! Thank you!!
 
Old 01-29-2013, 10:06 AM   #3
antweiler
Expert
 
antweiler's Avatar
Robert Kopf
Senior 3D-Artist
MBL Development
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 547
Have you skinned your no moving geometry? Either parent your geo to the bones or the rig, or skin it (then you should have them parented in a group outside the rig, so they get their movement only from the skincluster)
 
Old 01-29-2013, 03:30 PM   #4
fleabay
Attribute Editor
portfolio
Puddin' Tane
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 334
Group everything related to the rig in a new group and move the group.
 
Old 01-29-2013, 03:30 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.