CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 07:58 PM   #1
NealSct
New Member
portfolio
Neal
India
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
What shoud be scale of character and bg in maya?

Hi guys .
I am facing some scale related problem in maya like jitter issu , mesh get distorted when when character get far away from Grid , high render time .
now we are using scale 1/4 th of the real world eg(if tree is 10 feet we keep it as 2.5 feet in scence ) .
we are using maya , renderman complient render air and mental ray as well .please anybody help me to deside scence scale that having less problem and also comfortable for
all related departments .

Thanks
Neal.
 
Old 01-17-2013, 08:47 PM   #2
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
you should always use 1:1 scale
 
Old 01-17-2013, 10:56 PM   #3
Bitter
Also Highly Corrosive
 
Bitter's Avatar
David Fer Real
Fixer of things
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,720
Use the correct relative scale but it does not have to be 1:1 specifically.

Renderers receive exported numbers but NOT exported units.

1cm or 1km is exported as just "1" to a renderer.

So if you work where 1 grid unit is 1 cm, then real world scale means exported values for transforms are very large. You can increase the precision of the exported data for mental ray, but as the scene bounding box numbers become large it can create slow renders.

This is true of Vray where it may also print a warning that the scene bounding box is very large.

So most importantly, you should use the correct relative scale and stick to that for a production, like 1 grid unit is really 1 meter, etc.
__________________
My opinions are always my own...and maybe a friend's, but never my employer's.
 
Old 01-18-2013, 12:42 AM   #4
gmask
Obfuscator
 
gmask's Avatar
gmask
Power Sitting
Topanga, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,937
I'm used to working as 1 cm (default unit in maya) equals .1 meter
__________________
blah blah blah
 
Old 01-19-2013, 04:02 AM   #5
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 652
I have found from some recent training and tests that there are a few different issues to consider when deciding on scale.

One is of course Dynamics. Nucleus considers a grid to be 1 meter. If you are going 1:1 then you can enter .01 in the Nucleus Space Scale field. And apparently .0001 in the lift field for the nCloth.

By default it seems that the generated Human IK rig is built at 1:1 as cm. This is also consistent with the default sizes of the controllers in MotionBuilder (which you can edit) but by default it seems that the two match up well.

And next is of course interportability with Softimage ICE which uses a scale 10x smaller than Maya. One solution here suggested was to simulate ICE in XSI at 1:1 and then scale it up before import to Maya.

For me in Maya it seems to make sense to stick to 1:1 because I am working with Motion Builder and will be rigging/skinning in Maya and sending back and forth. Just seems like less work to keep everything to expected scale here.

Not sure if any of this is helpful but it is related. And I think the point is you have to look at the entire pipeline when considering scale.

I am still in the process of figuring this out as well so any suggestions would be helpful. For instance I have yet to do tests with my full scene size. It may be too big.
 
Old 01-19-2013, 07:56 AM   #6
DutchDimension
Think different
 
DutchDimension's Avatar
portfolio
Dutch Dimension
DMP/Environment Artist
MPC
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmask
I'm used to working as 1 cm (default unit in maya) equals .1 meter


I think you meant 1 cm equals 0.01 meters.
0.1 meters equals 1 decimeter.
__________________
"Even the Christmas vacation will be darkened by New Zealand scripts…"
~ J.R.R. Tolkien, The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, Letter 34
 
Old 01-19-2013, 07:56 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.