CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 10:04 AM   #1
naenia146
New Member
portfolio
Sergi
Barcelona, España
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Final Gathering noise Maya 2012

Hi, I have a lot of noise in my Beauty layer in my final render. I'm trying to increse the point density but nothing changes. Any suggestion?
 
Old 01-16-2013, 05:13 PM   #2
tobbew
Know-it-All
Torbjörn
Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 434
are you sure it's due to fg and not glossy reflections? Tried unified sampling? Tried increasing interpolation? What settings are you using? Make sure you are not using fg for ibl lighting - use native ibl (not exposed) if you are using a hdri.
 
Old 01-16-2013, 05:43 PM   #3
Bitter
Also Highly Corrosive
 
Bitter's Avatar
David Fer Real
Fixer of things
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,721
We have since exposed the Native IBL in the UI for Maya 2013 (non-SAP)

Updated UI version

You can find it under the Indirect Lighting tab (despite being a direct light)
__________________
My opinions are always my own...and maybe a friend's, but never my employer's.
 
Old 01-16-2013, 08:24 PM   #4
tobbew
Know-it-All
Torbjörn
Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 434
the native mr 3.9 script works fine for 2012
 
Old 01-17-2013, 11:37 AM   #5
naenia146
New Member
portfolio
Sergi
Barcelona, España
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
I have to check the reflection map, you are right. Thanks all!
 
Old 01-17-2013, 11:45 AM   #6
naenia146
New Member
portfolio
Sergi
Barcelona, España
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobbew
are you sure it's due to fg and not glossy reflections? Tried unified sampling? Tried increasing interpolation? What settings are you using? Make sure you are not using fg for ibl lighting - use native ibl (not exposed) if you are using a hdri.


I'm using fg with IBL. Why I can't do that? Where is the unified sampling mode? I'm new in mental ray.
 
Old 01-17-2013, 06:18 PM   #7
tobbew
Know-it-All
Torbjörn
Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 434
unified sampling is not exposed search the forum and get the native mr 3.9 script, it will expose both the native ibl and unified sampling. Search the forum and read bitters blog at elementalray.wordpress.com. If you want lighting from a hdri in mr 3.9 (maya 2012) the best way is native ibl, it has been discussed before and from what I have understood the advantage is importance sampling and that its bruteforce and gives less noise and far better shadows than using just fg for the lighting. Fg can also be used, but will automatically ignore the hdri so fg will just be calculated between objects.
 
Old 01-18-2013, 06:14 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.