CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 03:28 AM   #1
NostalgicAlgorithms
New Member
portfolio
Robert
Colony7, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Maya - Joints driving me crazy!

Okay so I've been working on animating a bipedal mech, I realized I made some mistakes so I want to start over with no joints. No matter what I try I cannot delete the joints. I have tried unparenting which doesnt help. If I use the "remove joint" option it says a root cannot be removed. Somehow the peices of the model are rigged to the world?

If I click on the main root joint at the center of my mech it selects the entire top half of the model.
This is very frustrating, I'm new to animating in Maya and when I want to delete something it should be simple!! Deleting joints by type deletes the entire model......

Somehow I deleted one joint? The joints are showing animation history but I already deleted any animations? So lost.....

 
Old 01-13-2013, 08:12 AM   #2
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Do you have groups set up?

If so that may explain some of your selection problems. Beyond that I am a little new to Maya selection, and I don't quite understand it fully yet.

But what you might do is simply export your meshes out as an obj or fbx and import them on a new scene to start over.
 
Old 01-13-2013, 09:18 AM   #3
zoharl
A newbie
 
zoharl's Avatar
portfolio
Zohar
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,820
Your mesh is probably a child of your joint. So if you delete the parent (joint), the child (mesh) is deleted as well. So unparent.
 
Old 01-13-2013, 12:43 PM   #4
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,016
when you select a joint and delete it, every joint/object that is a child of it gets deleted.
so first make sure your geometry isn't parented to one of your joints, select the top joint press delete.

İf nothing else works for some weird reason export your geometry as obj and start by importing it into a new scene.

Assuming you are new to rigging there are a couple of things you should be familiar with first in order to get a working joint hierarchy.

- Make sure you draw your joints in the orthographic views to get decent joint orientation
- Use constraints to attach your mesh parts instead of parenting them to joints
- Or skin your mesch parts, rigid skin in case of solid undeforming mechanical parts.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 01-13-2013, 12:43 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.