CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2013, 05:45 PM   #16
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,820
^ I've gotten used to Right-Clicking and choosing the tab I want in the Attributes Manager rather than scrolling, as when I do that I don't get the lockups.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-12-2013, 10:54 AM   #17
kees
www.lumonix.net
 
kees's Avatar
portfolio
Kees Rijnen
Software Developer
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,023
Yea I tend to use the mouse to click the tabs and Wacom for everything else.
Bizarrely enough I have gotten so used to it I don't even notice it anymore.

Still...a weird issues.

Not the only Wacom issue I have though.
In Visual Studio it also tends to lock up and just stop working from time to time until I close Visual Studio and re-open it.
__________________
-Kees
 
Old 11-12-2013, 11:16 AM   #18
yondon
Veteran
Y
Jerusalem, Israel
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 32
Are you all have A Quadro GPU as well?
because as i mentioned it only happens in that setup..
 
Old 11-12-2013, 05:36 PM   #19
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,820
^ No, GTX 580 here.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-12-2013, 07:02 PM   #20
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
never seen this on OS X but I almost never use Wacom to navigate UI.
 
Old 11-12-2013, 09:04 PM   #21
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,820
I'm the opposite I guess as I almost never use a mouse if I can avoid it.

One other thing I've noticed, if Maya locks up like this and I have space on my 2nd monitor to click on my desktop (ie I don't have the timeline or other ui element taking up that entire screen) to set the focus to windows explorer and then I click back on a Maya ui element to set focus to Maya again it usually unlocks right away rather than having to wait for it.

Weird one though..

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-12-2013, 09:46 PM   #22
kees
www.lumonix.net
 
kees's Avatar
portfolio
Kees Rijnen
Software Developer
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,023
Does Maya actually lock up?
For me, if I switch to using the mouse, Maya responds instantly.

Its just that my Wacom pen partially stops working...

GTX 460M in this case.
At work also happens on GTX 680.
__________________
-Kees
 
Old 11-12-2013, 10:27 PM   #23
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,820
Ah, yeah you're right. Using the mouse here does get Maya responding again. Weird. Good to know though, thanks.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 12-17-2013, 02:33 PM   #24
ivous
New Member
Ivo
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
hi, I have same problem with tab. When Maya freeze I push windows key on keyboard. You do not have to wait long.
It may help
 
Old 12-17-2013, 02:33 PM   #25
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.