Interior lighting with Maya Physical Sun and Sky

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2013
Interior lighting with Maya Physical Sun and Sky

Hello,
I am putting together a video tour of a 15th century castle structure. The tour takes place on the outside as well as the inside. I am still new to the Physical Sun and Sky(S&S) and have run into some problems. Once I set up the S&S for the environment all of the lights I placed for the interior are instantly bypassed and do not work. (Fireplace and candles due to it being in the morning around 10 am for the video) I tried using an area light as a portal light, however, due to the particular placement of the few windows and the sun the inside is still too dim for a video tour of the structure. I was wondering if there is any alternative to help with this problem. Can I somehow make the interior lights visible along with the Indirect Lighting of the Physical Sun and Sky?

I am using a MEL script to allow for the mia_exposure_photographic tone mapping shader rather the mia_exposure_simple shader in the S&S.
Also using Maya 2010
Mental Ray
Indirect Lighting (Final Gathering and GI)
Physical Sun and Sky w/ MEL script stated above

Thank you for taking the time to read and hopefully help.

01 January 2013
Double check that you use the portal lights correctly (enable lightshape and check your mr tab settings).

If you don't use portal lights, you will need to crank up the sun's light energy way too much in order to have indoor illumination - and this will render the indoor lights totally useless.

Portal light is a light multiplier to match indoor light's and outdoor illumination energy settings - you must use them most of the time.

01 January 2013