CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 11-12-2012, 04:49 AM   #1
kachoudas
Frequenter

outdated tools in Maya ? (if any)

Hello every one !

Coming from a strong background of Max, I recently started learning Maya. So far I love it, and find it quite similar to Max in its mix of "Wow ! what a great tool !" and "what the f..., you can't do that simple thing ?"

My question is : are there tools (whole areas) that are clearly outdated, still there only for compatibilty, and that a beginner could (or even should) avoid ? For exemple, in Max, it could be things like Patch, mesh(non poly) and nurbs modeling, may be the physic modifier, the HDIK, old booleans and such...

Things that may be usefull once in a while, but really that are not worth spending the time to learn it...

Any idea ?

Or Maya had be cleaned in various version of outdated tools ?

yours

Jerome

Old 11-12-2012, 10:29 AM   #2
mustique
Expert
copywriter

You seem to have discovered the fun stuff in Maya, so I'll cover the not so fun part.

- don't try mastering polytools if you know max
- nurbs modelling is old tech in maya, not updated for years.
- The native maya software renderer is a dead horse don't beat it
- Mentalray in maya can be a bitch. Vray, Rman or Arnold are your alternatives.
- The classic particle dynamics have an oldschool workflow, you probably won't like them
- There's demoware bundled in recent years, (DMM, bulletdynamics...) stay away
- Don't try to texture a character with Maya's 3D paint tool. They'll laugh at you.
- Maya Fur is not suited for long hair and is hard to sculpt

Old 11-12-2012, 11:11 AM   #3
Gloor
Expert
portfolio
Tom
United Kingdom

just out of interest, please

-why stay away from DMM and bullet?
-proper way to texture now is to do UV layout and then apply texture file from photoshop?
-if no particle use then what instead? Only nparticles?

Old 11-12-2012, 05:04 PM   #4
mustique
Expert