CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 06:52 AM   #1
StylizedCarfan1
3D modeler
 
StylizedCarfan1's Avatar
...
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 170
Cannot ungroup leaf level transformation

I have created a nurbs curve on a NURBS surface in live mode. Here's the problem. The nurbs is attached with the nurb surface. I want to ungroup them, but I cannot ungroup leaf level transformation. If I delete the nurbs surface, poof, the nurbs curve is gone.

Last edited by StylizedCarfan1 : 11-10-2012 at 06:55 AM.
 
Old 11-10-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
ralphymeijer
Animator/3d generalist
 
ralphymeijer's Avatar
Ralph Meijer
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 203
Maybe it helps if you delete the history on the curve?
 
Old 11-10-2012, 09:13 PM   #3
StylizedCarfan1
3D modeler
 
StylizedCarfan1's Avatar
...
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 170
Unfortunately, it didn't work. There gotta be someway to detach it.

EDIT: Ok, I found my solution to the problem which is to keep construction history on/off near the magnet tool or at least I think that worked for me (maybe not the solution).

Last edited by StylizedCarfan1 : 11-10-2012 at 11:34 PM.
 
Old 11-11-2012, 12:11 AM   #4
ristopuukko
Earthling
 
ristopuukko's Avatar
portfolio
Risto Puukko
Senior fx td
FrameStore
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 809
There's also a Duplicate Surface Curves - command which can be
used to extract isoparms, projected curves or other curves from a surface.

/risto
__________________
- Oh no, it's me -
 
Old 11-11-2012, 12:14 AM   #5
StylizedCarfan1
3D modeler
 
StylizedCarfan1's Avatar
...
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 170
Oh, so that how I get projected curves without the problem of leaf level transformation issue and more. Thanks. Now I will enjoy the wonders of nurbs.
 
Old 11-11-2012, 11:27 AM   #6
ristopuukko
Earthling
 
ristopuukko's Avatar
portfolio
Risto Puukko
Senior fx td
FrameStore
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 809
You kids do know that all this is in the manual, right ;-)

http://download.autodesk.com/us/may... ber=d0e247387

/risto
__________________
- Oh no, it's me -

Last edited by ristopuukko : 11-11-2012 at 11:28 AM. Reason: typo
 
Old 11-11-2012, 11:27 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.