CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 10:41 AM   #1
New Member
changzhi, China
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Thumbs up how can i set materials to same objects in different scenes

hello!i am a fresh man.when i complished one part of the whole animation i saved the scene,so i have different scenes containing different parts of the animation and objects with the same defaut material "labert 1".now ,i texture all objects in right materials in one scene.But how can i do with the other ones?i can import the materials in every scene and texture the objects,however ,it means a huge and boring work.
Need your help!every answer will be appreciated!
Old 10-30-2012, 11:52 AM   #2
Zahid Hasan Zitu
Sylhet, Bangladesh
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 171
Send a message via MSN to Zhbdcafe Send a message via Yahoo to Zhbdcafe
i think it's completely scripting task. And by the time you write your script, you can get your work done by hand.
Old 10-30-2012, 01:16 PM   #3
THExDUKE's Avatar
Erce Erim
3D Generalist
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 494
You should have referenced your model. E.g. you have your model_final.mb, which is shaded and textured. And that you reference in different scenes where you have different animations. That way, you can change the texture or shader in your model_final.mb and it will automatically be updated in all the other files, since its referenced there.

But in your particular situation, I think you need to do it by hand. You could maybe save some presets for settings, but youŽll have load your textures for each shader manually I suppose.
Cheers Duke

Old 10-30-2012, 04:53 PM   #4
gmask's Avatar
Power Sitting
Topanga, USA
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,937
You could also just reference the shader and then assign it to your model in the separate scenes.
blah blah blah
Old 10-31-2012, 12:41 PM   #5
Lord of the posts
Mitch Rosefelt
OutThereSumwhere, USA
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,044
If this will be an ongoing issue, use one of the referencing suggestions.
If this is an infrequent fix:
1) In the scene with the correct textures, create a simple object like a faceted cube or plane and assign the texture you want to copy to various faces.
2) (Optional). In the target scene, assign the default texture to all of the target objects, then to keep things clean, remove the unused textures from the scene (File/Optimize Scene).
3) Copy/Paste, or import the multi-textured simple object into the target scene. Use a renaming utility to remove 'pasted__' from all nodes. Reassign textures with Hypershade or RMB.
If animation couldn't change the world, it wouldn't be such a Micky-Mouse place.

Last edited by EightBit : 10-31-2012 at 12:45 PM.
Old 10-31-2012, 12:41 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.