CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 08:18 AM   #1
inkblack
Frequenter
portfolio
Mathijs Brussaard
Animator
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 179
Maya 2013 Extension up for download

Maya 2013 Extension: DX11 in Viewport 2.0 **Available for Download **

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/stev...-in-viewport-20
&
http://subscription.autodesk.com/sp...774&id=11607975


cheers
Inkblack
 
Old 09-26-2012, 10:24 AM   #2
3Dmonkey
Frequenter
Mark
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
ಠ_ಠ
Just letting everyone know that the Maya 2013 Extension installs as 2013.5

Way to go Autodesk, I thought they might have got the message after the complaints from last time they tried this....

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...ighlight=2011.5

(goes off to spend half a day uninstalling 2013 Extension and then installing Service Pack 2 instead)

Last edited by 3Dmonkey : 09-26-2012 at 10:53 AM.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 10:58 AM   #3
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,879
Exactly my reaction here too, it seems to have broken some vital plugins here. Why on earth did they do this when they got it right for 2012/2012SAP.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 11:07 AM   #4
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,879
Edit - plugins need to be updated.. missed the meeting.

Last edited by Horganovski : 09-26-2012 at 12:14 PM.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 11:37 AM   #5
zeroeffect
Code Junkie
portfolio
Chris Zurbrigg
Software Developer
Independent
Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 221
Maya 2013 Extension breaks binary compatibility with Maya 2013. What this means is all plug-ins compiled for 2013 need to be recompiled for 2013 Extension.

Autodesk Maya 2013 Extension Release

This is a big change from previous hotfix and service pack releases. And, quite frankly, a royal pain-in-the-ass for plug-in developers.

Last edited by zeroeffect : 09-26-2012 at 11:41 AM.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 11:40 AM   #6
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,879
Ah thanks, good to know at least.
On the bright side I reinstalled 2013 and it seems to run fine with 2013.5 installed too.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 09-26-2012, 11:44 AM   #7
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,069
Aw well, and I was just about to download.
Thanks a lot for the warning.
... and "well done again, Autodesk".

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 09-26-2012, 12:02 PM   #8
hanskloss
Polynator
 
hanskloss's Avatar
portfolio
Przemek Lodej
Poly/Pixel pusher
Detroit, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via ICQ to hanskloss
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroeffect
Maya 2013 Extension breaks binary compatibility with Maya 2013. What this means is all plug-ins compiled for 2013 need to be recompiled for 2013 Extension.

Autodesk Maya 2013 Extension Release

This is a big change from previous hotfix and service pack releases. And, quite frankly, a royal pain-in-the-ass for plug-in developers.


I was just about to download it. Thank's for the heads up! This is becoming a norm for ADSK. Utterly lame!
__________________
Happy beebee smile time.....----> My work
 
Old 09-26-2012, 12:37 PM   #9
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,243
to move forward you have to brake something...

you could have it also the other way and use max...
they dont get new features cause the have the fear to break some plugins...
__________________
...
 
Old 09-26-2012, 01:07 PM   #10
Hamburger
Expert
portfolio
Where is it?
Architectural Viz
Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,025
These things are only like a public beta for the next release anyways.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 01:12 PM   #11
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,243
in this one went much more testen than in the past...
i would give it a go...
__________________
...
 
Old 09-26-2012, 02:13 PM   #12
kees
www.lumonix.net
 
kees's Avatar
portfolio
Kees Rijnen
Software Developer
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,023
I would look at what is inside SAP first and see if those features are valuable to you and then decide if it is worth recompiling plugins for.

If you want bigger change/progress for Maya you should be ok with a binary break from time to time.

I don't think this will feel like a "public beta test" either.
I have been writing shaders for DX11 part of Maya for a year and A LOT of stuff should work very well.

Keep in mind this is aimed at game developers.
So our effort was focussed there and not things like fluid, paint effects etc for vp 2.
__________________
-Kees
 
Old 09-26-2012, 02:30 PM   #13
tonytrout
Expert
 
tonytrout's Avatar
tony
Light Equations
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 394
I see that the DX11 stuff supports mudbox displacement in viewport2. I assume there is no problem installing alongside 2013.
__________________

 
Old 09-26-2012, 02:57 PM   #14
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Dmonkey
ಠ_ಠ
Just letting everyone know that the Maya 2013 Extension installs as 2013.5

Way to go Autodesk, I thought they might have got the message after the complaints from last time they tried this....

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...ighlight=2011.5

(goes off to spend half a day uninstalling 2013 Extension and then installing Service Pack 2 instead)


I brought this up in beta testing and it seems that it was because of binary incompatibility, not a superficial change of names. I won't be running 2013.5 because it won't work with my 2013 plug-ins.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 05:25 PM   #15
nbreslow
Interplanetary Traveller
 
nbreslow's Avatar
portfolio
Nicholas Breslow
CG Generalist
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 126
Thanks for the heads up on the install directory - I was going to ask that myself!

Here is a detailed explanation of why the plugins won't work (probably more info. than you want to know). The 'Around the Corner' blog is excellent BTW, worth a more complete look.

While I rely a lot on plugins and am disappointed this is the result I am also happy at the progress of development. I am no developer, and this is pure speculation, but a lot of the work seems to pave the way for Mental Ray being more of a plugin. Also to make it easier for other renders to work more effectively in the Maya viewport.

-N
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.