CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #1
neil-w2
Veteran
portfolio
neil whitehorn
edmonton, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
maya facial rigging with blendshapes

im having trouble using blendshapes in maya for facial riggingg

i can create a blendshape that gives face a very specific expression

but having trouble layering the blendshapes together
like i only seem to be able to get 1 blendshape to work on my face

its like 1 blendshape over writes the other blendshape, replaces it

like, if i have one side of the cheek raising up and out, thats a blendshape
and i wanted another blendshape doing the same thing on the other side of the face
how would i do that?

Last edited by neil-w2 : 08-05-2012 at 04:01 PM.
 
Old 08-05-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
doffer
Keying everything
 
doffer's Avatar
portfolio
Christoffer Andersen
Animator
Valence, France
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 910
Are you adding each blendmodel under a new blendshape deformer, or do you select all of them, and add them to the same blendshape deformer?
I usually do the latter, and that works fine.

Just select all of your shapes, then the base model, and then add the blendshape deformer.
Now you should see all blend shapes in the channel box or in the special blendshape window
__________________
Website
Steam Punk Challenge
 
Old 08-06-2012, 12:15 AM   #3
neil-w2
Veteran
portfolio
neil whitehorn
edmonton, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
blendmodel under a new blendshape deformer

think it has something to do with the deformation order

but shouldnt it just work with
target shape optoings> inbetween set to off

?
 
Old 08-06-2012, 11:36 PM   #4
royg
---
Roy
City, Afghanistan
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil-w2
blendmodel under a new blendshape deformer

think it has something to do with the deformation order

but shouldnt it just work with
target shape optoings> inbetween set to off

?
Wait - If I understand you correctly: you're adding a NEW blendshape DEFORMER for every blend shape target you have? That's wrong. All your blendshape models (targets) should be going into the ONE and ONLY blendshape deformer on your main model. Then they will all play nicely together.

If you are doing the latter (i.e. using only one blendshape deformer), and it's still not working then I'm not entirely sure what's going wrong. Post your scene if you want.
 
Old 10-09-2012, 07:25 PM   #5
neil-w2
Veteran
portfolio
neil whitehorn
edmonton, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
e-gad,
i cant remember when i posted this T_T
 
Old 10-09-2012, 07:25 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.