Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Old 06-11-2012, 04:50 PM   #1
Lord of the posts
Juan Gea
Bone-Studio Founder & Director
How can i change one parameter in multiple objects - nCloth

I'm new to Maya, so i'm studying it.

I have a sphere broken in severla pieces, and i want to use them as nCloth, up to there is ok, now, i want to load the "Concrete" preset in all of them.

How can i do that?

If there's no spoon you must eat the soup with your hands, don't let the tool be your life, be an artist.
Old 06-11-2012, 10:40 PM   #2
Think different
Dutch Dimension
DMP/Environment Artist
United Kingdom
Originally Posted by CerberusC

I'm new to Maya, so i'm studying it.

I have a sphere broken in severla pieces, and i want to use them as nCloth, up to there is ok, now, i want to load the "Concrete" preset in all of them.

How can i do that?

I'm pretty sure you can't set presets with this, but for future reference, look into the Attribute Spreadsheet Editor for changing attributes on multiple nodes at the same time. It's extremely useful.
"Even the Christmas vacation will be darkened by New Zealand scripts…"
~ J.R.R. Tolkien, The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, Letter 34
Old 06-12-2012, 01:32 PM   #3
Parv Verma
Delhi, India
Hi, Juan!
I'm not very good with nCloth but I'm gonna try...
The Use Polygon Shells check box under the Dynamic Properties section will be of your help here.
You can combine all the pieces into an single mesh and simulate which will create only one nClothShape node, instead of having separate objects which will create an nClothSshape node of each piece.

If you have all the broken pieces combined into one mesh, then applying the concrete preset will cause them to simulate as a single piece of geometry at first. That is because the Rigidity and Deform Resistence is set to 4 and 6 respectively. even a value of 0.2 in Rigidity will cause it to simulate as one object.
Like this: