Modelling to real world scale in Maya - Solution found

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

2 Weeks Ago
Modelling to real world scale in Maya - Solution found

Hi all,

This is not a question. This is to share my knowledge in Maya.

I've heard most people who use Maya say that it's impossible to work with real world scale in Maya with imperial units. They argue that maya is not programmed to do such kind of work and so they ought to use 3ds Max for real world scale.
Some people say it's possible to do real world scale and all they do is use the measure tool or have a reference image.

As an architectural designer I struggled a lot to find a solution for this and I'm glad to say that I've found a perfect solution for this.
I have done a tutorial on this and I'm sure it will be of help to all architecture modellers who use Maya.

Check it out in the link below
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YF1sEN9B1CA&t=75s

Share Your thoughts.
Thank You

Last edited by naveenraghul : 2 Weeks Ago at 08:23 PM.

2 Weeks Ago
So imperial measurement is required for real world scale? Also, just pretend 1 unit = 1 foot and set your grid to divs to 12 if that's all you need.

2 Weeks Ago
Originally Posted by fleabay: So imperial measurement is required for real world scale? Also, just pretend 1 unit = 1 foot and set your grid to divs to 12 if that's all you need.
My mistake. I apologise. I should have mentioned working with imperial units in real world scale. (which I've edited now)
if i assume 1cm = 1 feet, I would get a small model (when compared to real world) which could be problematic when I use VRay lights. Because I would be missing the accuracy of lighting units. A 60 watts light, for instance, might be brighter than the sun in that case.