CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2010, 11:34 AM   #61
Pjanssen
Veteran
portfolio
Pier Janssen
Göteborg, Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,400
I agree that it should never make any scene dependent on the Outliner. The nested layer feature does not do this by the way. It does store data (custom attributes) 'on top of' the layers, but 3dsmax will simply ignore this.
DarkNemos, could you maybe expand on your idea a little?
 
Old 04-15-2010, 06:59 PM   #62
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
Well, currently i am working with lots and lots of groups witch all have similar names, so it gets tough to quickly find the right one.

My idea was to have some sort of custom made code witch can produce a similar effect to the nested layers, A fake group, or perhaps to have a fake helper object that we can link the groups to and then just colapse them. I mean right now we can all do that, i can create a helper objects and link the groups to it and colapse it so its easier to see (i just thought of that while writting this ). Can you make for example a helper object that is not selectable in the viewport and not seen in viewport, and the sole purpose of its existance is organisation purpose inside the outliner.

If one opens a scene where there are nested groups he can see the helper object like a normal object, but if he has outliner installed that helper will be invisible and will serve for nesting.

Just brainstorming on the subject
__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn
 
Old 04-15-2010, 07:50 PM   #63
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
This idea is actually so easy that its almost impossible

You just need a point helper with all the options unchecked. That way you cannot see it in the viewport and you cannot select it in the viewport. There will be NO problems with a version of max that doesn't have outliner installed and i bet that this is dead easy for you to implement.

Just a fancy rightclick way to make the helper. Thats all you need

__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn
 
Old 04-15-2010, 08:01 PM   #64
Graeck
CAT User
 
Graeck's Avatar
portfolio
Gregor Weiß
Character TD & Animator
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via ICQ to Graeck
@DarkNemos

No, there is an important difference between nested layers and grouping/linking. Nested layers are independant from any hierarchical linking, while your point helper will change the linking between objects. That is really important to notice, because often you want to group objects into a layer while they are linked to objects that are in completely different layers.
__________________
My Demoreel 2011:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gfq-4VoeAPU
 
Old 04-15-2010, 08:29 PM   #65
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
Yeah i agree, that could cause a problem. It can cause a problem for you rigging people. For me personally since i use almost no linking it works perfectly. So i guess that ill use this method for now until Pier figures out a way to implement this thingy
__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn
 
Old 04-16-2010, 01:30 PM   #66
Clanker
PRO
 
Clanker's Avatar
France
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
icons don't update when you convert an object to another type e.g : spline to polygons. Not very annoying though. Amazing job :]
__________________

 
Old 04-16-2010, 03:18 PM   #67
Pjanssen
Veteran
portfolio
Pier Janssen
Göteborg, Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clanker
icons don't update when you convert an object to another type e.g : spline to polygons. Not very annoying though. Amazing job :]
Yep. There is no way (that I know of) to detect a type change for objects. So the Outliner can't react to it.

@DarkNemos: Using object hierarchies might not be a good idea, as Gregor pointed out. What I'm wondering about though: why would you want something that behaves very much like layers, when you have layers?
 
Old 04-16-2010, 03:42 PM   #68
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pjanssen
@DarkNemos: Using object hierarchies might not be a good idea, as Gregor pointed out. What I'm wondering about though: why would you want something that behaves very much like layers, when you have layers?


Well the reason is simple. Layer mode doesn't handle groups as good as hierarchy mode. Layer mode displays both a group and an object in groups.

__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn
 
Old 04-16-2010, 03:44 PM   #69
Pjanssen
Veteran
portfolio
Pier Janssen
Göteborg, Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkNemos
Well the reason is simple. Layer mode doesn't handle groups as good as hierarchy mode. Layer mode displays both a group and an object in groups.
There's an option to hide group contents in layer mode
 
Old 04-16-2010, 03:49 PM   #70
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pjanssen
There's an option to hide group contents in layer mode


yeah but thats not nearly the same thing
__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn
 
Old 04-16-2010, 04:03 PM   #71
Pjanssen
Veteran
portfolio
Pier Janssen
Göteborg, Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,400
Well in that case I really don't understand what you're looking for I'm afraid
 
Old 04-16-2010, 05:34 PM   #72
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
The perfect option would be to edit groups in layers mode just like in the hierarchy mode, since i know thats not possible, i wish to have some sort of organisation to organize large ammouts of groups (50? 100?), since as you say that is also not possible i give up
__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn

Last edited by DarkNemos : 04-16-2010 at 06:19 PM.
 
Old 04-16-2010, 06:40 PM   #73
Pjanssen
Veteran
portfolio
Pier Janssen
Göteborg, Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,400
Hm yes I do agree that it would be nice to have an efficient way to organize large scenes (not even specifically groups), that don't affect the hierarchy. Maybe something like the selection sets, but more flexible?
 
Old 04-16-2010, 07:46 PM   #74
DarkNemos
Know-it-All
 
DarkNemos's Avatar
portfolio
Nemanja Stavric
Lighting and Texture Artist
Looking for work
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 393
Send a message via MSN to DarkNemos
Hmmmm... i fail to see how selection sets can help us in this. You mean kinda like a system to display only one selection set at a time? But to have all other sets easily accessible? Can you expand the idea a little bit?

The best way to figure this out i think is for the two (or few) of us to brainstorm ideas.

By the way is the selection sets dropdown (the one on the main toolbar) accessible to maxscript? I know i need it but searched it and couldn't find it.
__________________
It is a poor artist who blames his tools for his work.

- Jeremy Birn
 
Old 04-16-2010, 08:00 PM   #75
gandhics
Expert
 
gandhics's Avatar
Changsoo Eun
VFX Artist
FuseFX
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 827
You may check RPManager.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.