CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2003, 06:42 PM   #1
Taoizm
Forum Monkey
 
Taoizm's Avatar
portfolio
Tony O'Dell
Director of Motion Design
Illumen
Evanston, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,606
Answer to: lost my Move/Rotate/Scale tranform

Since we seem to get this question on an almost weekly basis so I figured we'd sticky this up for quick reference.

If you have lost your tranform gizmo try pressing the Xkey. This is the default on/off toggle.

Yes, there are more than 32 materials availible. As long as they have a unique name you can have a ton of materials in a scene. You are only limited to seeing 32 in the mat editor at one time.

"Help my viewport textures are Blurry.

thanks to Bobo:
Assuming that you are running OpenGL or DirectX driver, Customize>Preferences>Viewports>Configure Driver
Change the texture resolution to the highest supported, check "Match Bitmap" checkbox for better resizing.

You can also play with the MipMap settings... Linear/Linear should looks pretty nice:
http://www.scriptspot.com/bobo/stuff/cgtalk/mipmap/

-
__________________
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
-Douglas Adams


Last edited by Taoizm : 05-03-2006 at 01:49 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2003, 06:50 PM   #2
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
And if all your objects turn into boxes when you rotate your viewport... press the O key.

"Adaptive Degradation Toggle"
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Old 07-20-2003, 04:51 PM   #3
Neox
Lord of the posts
 
Neox's Avatar
portfolio
Unger Unger
Freelance-3d-Artist, Character Modeller
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,273
Send a message via ICQ to Neox

and what if my X Key is collapse(poly) ?

sorry guys nevermind
__________________
bonus vir semper tiro

some timelapsed videos
 
Old 07-20-2003, 05:29 PM   #4
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
lol...

I would smack you and say "yeah but your no nooooobie!" exactly like austin powers says "I'm gonna watch a mooooovie"


Hi Neox
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Old 07-28-2003, 02:21 AM   #5
jeef
Veteran
 
jeef's Avatar
Jeff Knaggs
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
haha, i think ALOT of 3d forums need this q&a stickied!!
 
Old 07-28-2003, 06:05 PM   #6
mo_pic
Frequenter
 
mo_pic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 105
One other possible solution:
check if your monitor is on...
 
Old 08-14-2003, 09:52 PM   #7
DerPapa
howmanyletterscaniputinto
 
DerPapa's Avatar
portfolio
Michael Plängsken
GROUND STUDIOS GmbH
3D animation & visual FX
Germany
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 670
there is a checkbox at the botom of the viewport tab of the Preference Settings, says Transform Gizmo on/off.

(for the one who has "collapse poly" on x
)

Michael
__________________
www.ground-studios.com
 
Old 08-16-2003, 07:05 PM   #8
Phoric
network geek
 
Phoric's Avatar
Phoric
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 99
I've been having a similar related problem lately where I loose the ability to type in my XYZ offset numbers at the bottom of the screen when doing a move command. I have to either open the transform type-in window (f12), or I actually have to click-drag-move in the viewport, then undo, and only then it allows me to type a value in. Kind of a pain when all I want is to offset something accurately.

This only started recently so I know somethings not right. I'm using 5.1. Any ideas?
__________________
phoric :: photoblog
 
Old 08-23-2003, 09:54 PM   #9
gnarlycranium
Big Giant Heed
 
gnarlycranium's Avatar
portfolio
Leah Cooper
Student
Academy of Art University
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,324
And if the bounding boxes that show you what object you've got selected disappear, hit the J key!
__________________

 
Old 09-04-2003, 06:36 AM   #10
AlecMoody
Frequenter
portfolio
Alec Moody
Artist
Santa Rosa, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 157
the X key you say? Ive been doing it manually in the gizmos menu. Thanks.
 
Old 09-05-2003, 01:54 PM   #11
Thomas V.
New Member
Student
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
i seem to have lost my "convert to: convert to editable mesh etc" 0ption in the default quad

does anyone know how to get it back?

Thanks Thomas
 
Old 09-21-2003, 08:22 PM   #12
Equinoxx
Forum Leader
 
Equinoxx's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Yves Adam
3d Designer
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,305
go to customize, then the quads tab, there locate convert to: in the bottomleft list and drag it to one of your quads
__________________
eqko
 
Old 10-04-2003, 02:20 PM   #13
NATEMO
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 78
Objects that turn into boxes when ..

Objects that turn into boxes when you move the view port..

I did not want to turn this on but I did... almost never need it.. but the thing is I cant seem to find where to turn it off.

can you guys help me out.
Iam not sure what its called so i could not find it in the manual.

I think it was the home key at one point but thats not it anymore.

thanks !
 
Old 10-07-2003, 05:15 PM   #14
Equinoxx
Forum Leader
 
Equinoxx's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Yves Adam
3d Designer
Rotterdam, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,305
Natemo, have you even READ this thread ? if you did, you would've have seen the second post and gotten your answer.
__________________
eqko
 
Old 10-08-2003, 11:02 PM   #15
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
LOL... that one qualifies for a darwin award I think.
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.