CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2004, 06:34 AM   #1
Gary2
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 157
Share your 3dsmax Secrets

i noticed they have a thread like this in the maya section, so i figured it wouldnt hurt to have one like it here

post all those nifty tricks and tips that people might normally miss in this software here to share
 
Old 08-06-2004, 09:54 AM   #2
ArYeS
Inverse-Gravity
 
ArYeS's Avatar
Darjo Vuk
Freelance Artist
Slovenia
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to ArYeS
hmm, i don't know what to saj

oh yea:

1. Massive use of Target Weld (helped me a lot)
2. Use array when you must copy multible objects
 
Old 08-06-2004, 12:37 PM   #3
PEN
R&D/Technical Director
 
PEN's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Neale
PEN Productions
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,415
Select a spinner and press ctrl+n and you get a calculator

Use an edit mesh modifier below Skin to hide and move bits of the mesh out fo the way temporaraly to make Skinning easier.

When you don't know how a tool works, read the manual first!
__________________
Paul Neale
http://paulneale.com
 
Old 08-06-2004, 12:45 PM   #4
Maven
Photometric Smith
 
Maven's Avatar
portfolio
Christopher Leone
Lead Design Visualization Specialist
Parsons Brinckerhoff
Boston, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArYeS
1. Massive use of Target Weld (helped me a lot)

Can you explain? I don't know what you mean.

-Right clicking on the undo icon will bring up a list of the commands that you performed.
__________________
.
~MvN
~My opinions do not represent those of my employer~


 
Old 08-06-2004, 12:53 PM   #5
theotheo
Know-it-All
 
theotheo's Avatar
portfolio
Theodor Groeneboom
Framestore CFC
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 368
Send a message via MSN to theotheo
Also put a editable mesh modifier ontop of your stack to increase viewport speed, helps alot when dealing with large scenes.

-theo
 
Old 08-06-2004, 01:14 PM   #6
PEN
R&D/Technical Director
 
PEN's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Neale
PEN Productions
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by theotheo
Also put a editable mesh modifier ontop of your stack to increase viewport speed, helps alot when dealing with large scenes.

-theo

Or make sure that the bottom of the stack is a mesh. If you have meshsmooth in the stack turn it off in view ports. And you should use a mesh select or turn to mesh as it will not increase the file size as much.
__________________
Paul Neale
http://paulneale.com
 
Old 08-06-2004, 01:59 PM   #7
AtmaWeapon
It will work next time...
 
AtmaWeapon's Avatar
Bei Yang
Technical Concept Designer
Walt Disney Imagineering
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 353
Making a reference of a low poly object to putting mesh smooth on it. Makes looking at the lowpoly mesh and editing it a bit easier in my opinion.

And although its really basic, the keyboard and mouse shortcuts.
QWER, middle click and drag, alt-middle click and drag
__________________

 
Old 08-06-2004, 02:03 PM   #8
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,908
Right click on spinners to zero them. Handy for lining up a load of verts if you haven't got the 'vertex placer' script installed, or making sure objects are in the centre of the world. Don't know how well known that is, but I keep forgetting it. Vertex placer can be found here-
http://www.ricoholmes.com/

If you're trying to use metric units, don't just change the setting in the 'unit setup' box, also set it in the 'system unit setup' sub menu, or it'll think 1 unit=1inch still.

Always check the snap settings when swapping between viewports. I'm ALWAYS forgetting to swap between 2.5d in planar views and 3d in perspecitve or user views. (although I'd rather the settings were per viewport, what's the point of a 3D snap in a 2D viewport).

Use the Renamer utility if you've got a lot of objects to rename. It's got lots of handy options for incremental naming etc.

There's a Swami Lama script for converting copied objects into instances called 'instance-o-matic'. http://www.scriptspot.com/start.htm

Check out Chugnuts Unwraptools for a bunch of handy tools for um uvmapping. The ones for aligning a load of uvs are great as are the ones for evenly spacing them.

http://www.chuggnut.com/scripts/unw...unwraptools.htm

Lots of others that I can't think of now.
 
Old 08-06-2004, 02:12 PM   #9
ArYeS
Inverse-Gravity
 
ArYeS's Avatar
Darjo Vuk
Freelance Artist
Slovenia
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to ArYeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonec
Can you explain? I don't know what you mean.

-Right clicking on the undo icon will bring up a list of the commands that you performed.


heh, just use Target Weld often
 
Old 08-06-2004, 02:54 PM   #10
maxFX
Polygon Tweaking Machine
 
maxFX's Avatar
portfolio
Albert Papadosifakis
Concept artist , Modeller, Designer
Freelancing
Athens, Greece
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 267
- Enable Autobackup feature on 3dsmax, a real life saver!

- Use multiple Edit mesh modifiers and add one when you finish a part of the model....that way you can correct Model problems

- When saving as.. a file pressing the + sign will add a number increment next to it ( e.g normal.max will be normal01.max ) . I use that when i work with edit poly ( max 7.0 will feature an edit poly Modifier!at last )

- keep a personal material library or better, divide your libraries like : my_metals , my_hair etc. that way you can reuse old stuff and you can deliver quickly ( more valid for proc.shaders though ).
__________________
Will model for food!
 
Old 08-06-2004, 03:05 PM   #11
markdc
Smooth-Running Gun
portfolio
Markcus Dunn
USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxFX
- Enable Autobackup feature on 3dsmax, a real life saver!


- When saving as.. a file pressing the + sign will add a number increment next to it ( e.g normal.max will be normal01.max ) . I use that when i work with edit poly ( max 7.0 will feature an edit poly Modifier!at last )


There is also an auto-increment on save feature (I always use it).

Use "i" to recenter the view when creating splines.

You can also extrude a polygon along a spline which is great for complex extrusions.

Need to create morphs for your character? Check out FFDs.
__________________

 
Old 08-06-2004, 03:20 PM   #12
sigge
Veteran
 
sigge's Avatar
Student
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian_dlm
There is also an auto-increment on save feature (I always use it).
There is a incremental save script over at Scriptspot. It keeps the orignal filename and stores the old copy with a incremental name in a subfolder. Particulary good if your dealing with XRef'ing
 
Old 08-06-2004, 03:31 PM   #13
heavyness
can't stop progress...
 
heavyness's Avatar
portfolio
Rick Kolesar
Seattle, WA, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,266
Send a message via MSN to heavyness
[great thread!]

-get a 5 button mouse, get 2 monitors

-create a maxstart.max file in your /scene folder that loads with max. you can save settings, and even start objects that are ready to go for you to model [like a box with edit poly on it, ready to extrude]

-do some research on your video card and learn the best settings for it. you'll see a big difference when its optimized.

-use the shortcut key to set animation keys. you can animate much faster when your not moving the mouse out of the viewport, clicking, and going back.


[sidenote : does anyone know how to turn off "show rebuild cursor." it always turn back on no matter what i do...]
__________________
.rick | heavyness.com
 
Old 08-06-2004, 03:56 PM   #14
decembermoon
Moonromanticism
 
decembermoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 298
-file/archive : to backup your scene with texture
-use HSV color instead of the regauler RGB
-DISABLE autobackup feature , sometimes when working with a heavy scene it may slow down max (( so manually save as much as you can ))
 
Old 08-06-2004, 04:01 PM   #15
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,908
Just to follow up what decembermoon said-

Always remember to turn autoback on again. I used to do that for heavy scenes and it was painful to forget it was off when the first crash happened.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.