CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2014, 09:25 PM   #1
Jackie Xiao Xioa
Northern Mariana Islands
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 74
lights still active though they are turned off ?? (Vray)

Hello. .... Does anyone know why are some lights still releasing light even when turned off ? Happened to me with a target light. But I remember it happened once with vray sun as well.. though it was disabled. So off or on it's the same light in my scene... And I had them all closed in my scene and I was expecting to have a black render but no way... the scene was still lighted.
Why is this happening?
Old 04-10-2014, 09:32 PM   #2
darthviper107's Avatar
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,977
If they're turned off maybe it's rendering the default lights.
The Z-Axis
Old 04-10-2014, 10:21 PM   #3
Bar Stool Enthusiast
musashidan's Avatar
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,817
Originally Posted by darthviper107
If they're turned off maybe it's rendering the default lights.

Default lighting should automatically turn off/be overridden once you add a light to your scene.
Old 04-14-2014, 06:15 AM   #4
ebee's Avatar
Teemu Gabriel Valkama
TD / 3D Artist
Brink Helsinki Oy
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146

Do you have GI on?

Is your environment color black with no map? (hotkey 8)

Have you changed anything in Render Setup (hotkey F10) > V-Ray > Environment?

Make sure that your defaults lights are OFF in Render Setup > V-Ray > Global Switches.

As a side note, I have never had this problem myself.
TD / 3D Artist at Brink Helsinki
Old 04-14-2014, 06:31 AM   #5
Michael Wentworth-Bell
MichaelWBell's Avatar
Michael Wentworth-Bell
Motion Graphics / 3D Artist
Reel Pictures
Melbourne, Australia
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 542
One thing to Ask: when you say 'disabling' the lights, do you mean you are literally turning them 'off' or just hiding their visibility? By default Vray will render hidden lights (example: it will still render lights that are on a hidden layer - layer's visibility is switched off) and that can be very confusing.

To change this behaviour, Open your render settings and go to the Vray:Global switches (lighting) area and uncheck 'Hidden Lights'. Now it will not render hidden lights.

If that is not it, If you un-check the 'lights' checkbox and then turn off default lights, do you still have light in your scene?

If so, it must be GI, environment, background or something, as ebee has suggested.

Basically with Vray if you turn off 'lights' in the global switches and also turn off GI, you should get a completely black render (and it should render very fast!). Somebody Correct me if I am wrong!
A Very good approach to quickly get alpha, MatID, Zdepth or other passes.
Michael Wentworth-Bell // Motion Graphics & 3D Artist // Melbourne, Australia

My VR-Diary videos - CG Talk thread
My Folio website
reply share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.