CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2013, 09:02 PM   #1
eLPenry
Explorer
portfolio
Luke Penry
London, United%2BKingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Shimmer problem in 3Ds Max animation?

my first post, very stuck with something and would appreciate some comments on how to tackle it.

I am rendering scene of the front of a house, but when i move the camera, the brickwork seems so sharp that it does this shimmer effect as the camera zooms in, here is the video link:

http://tinypic.com/r/wvtzlv/5

Sorry for the poor quality, tinypic is pants, but focus on the bricks to begin with and you will sort of see

i am using a bump map for the bricks, a very large texture, about 5000x5000. i tried blurring the diffuse map and the bump but it didn't help much.

also note i'm using the scan line renderer and IES lights.
 
Old 12-16-2013, 08:35 PM   #2
mynewcat
Feels the need for speed!
 
mynewcat's Avatar
portfolio
Justin Dowling
Freelancer
JD3D CGI
Bristol, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,265
I think that is more to do with the Moire effect than anything.

5k map seems a little high - - maybe you need to up your sampling/anti aliasing instead.

Also, could an element of this be down tot he codec you are using for your video?
__________________
www.jd3d.co.uk - I'm available for freelance work.
 
Old 12-16-2013, 09:42 PM   #3
PelDaddy
Know-it-All
Joe Laffey
The Stable VFX
St. Louis, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 313
Also be sure you have Blur set to 1.0 in the bitmap node, or even try higher than 1.0 if need be.

I see a lot of people (and instructors) telling people to reduce blur to the minimum (0.01, I think). This may be OK for a still, but it is terrible for animations. It produces crawling textures on animations, and produces images sharper than anything you can get through a real lens.

I think lowering the blur should be reserved for cases like a product shot, where the client wants their product to look extra crisp. Even then, fine details are likely to crawl in an animation unless you leave some blur on.

You might also check your AA filter in the render settings. Again, I like things soft, like light that has travelled through a real lens, and landed on film. The sharpest AA filter I would ever use is Area (the default). I typically use the Soften filer with a radius of 4.2 for animations. If render time is an issue with Soften (which is a little bit slower) then Area with a radius of 1.65-1.95 works well too. This is the most filmic, requiring only a hint of blur in the post to blend into a live action plate. (We do VFX; so most of our work is comped into live action).

I see so many people using oversharpening AA filters and turning off blur. That oversharpened look is definitely not like a real camera.
__________________
--Pel
 
Old 12-16-2013, 09:42 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.