3ds max 2014 freezes on startup, tried reinstalling.. :(

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

11 November 2013
3ds max 2014 freezes on startup, tried reinstalling.. :(

I've been using max 2012 and 13' on this machine for a few months now, installed 14' about 2 months ago and it was running fine until it crashed on me last week and since then it freezes on startup everytime!

-Tried the activation fix to no avail
-Tried completely removing all autodesk products, even from the \appdata directories. I manually searched my C drive for anything 'autodesk' or '3ds' and removed them all.
-Used CCcleaner and cleared registry in between all uninstalls.
-of course restarted machine after uninstalls/installs...

What the heck could it be? Max 12 and 13 work when I re install them...

Surely it has to be some corrupt file buried somewhere, but where? Where else can I search/ and what for?

FWIW when I open max 2014 it doesn't give me any errors. In fact it appears to be working just fine for about 3 seconds, I can mouse around and even get a few clicks in before it just locks up on me. I've tried resetting factory settings in this 3 second span (file- reset). No error messages ever, it just freezes and goes into an un-responsive mode and I have to force close it.

Thanks for any help...

11 November 2013
Sounds like a video card driver maybe? If you can load all of the plugins and resources fine, but have a crash within the application navigating the viewport, maybe the viewport crashes max. Did you try the OpenGL or Software driver? Also, have you tried updating / reinstalling your graphics drivers? Did you try another card? Did you try seeing what all crashes, using windows event viewer or viewing mini dump files? Did you try a System Restore?