CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2013, 05:54 PM   #1
mynewcat
Feels the need for speed!
 
mynewcat's Avatar
portfolio
Justin Dowling
Freelancer
JD3D CGI
Bristol, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,271
Dropbox and Max UI, Scripts etc.

Has anyone used Dropbox to sync UI settings and scripts with Max seats?
__________________
www.jd3d.co.uk - I'm available for freelance work.
 
Old 08-22-2013, 10:08 AM   #2
Clanker
PRO
 
Clanker's Avatar
France
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Late response, but i use sugarsync to synchronyze between work and home station. Main advantage over dropbox is that it lets you chose whatever folder, you don't have to put everything in the dropbox folder.
__________________

 
Old 08-22-2013, 03:33 PM   #3
mynewcat
Feels the need for speed!
 
mynewcat's Avatar
portfolio
Justin Dowling
Freelancer
JD3D CGI
Bristol, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,271
Thanks for the reply.

It's a pity - I already have Dropbox and Gogoel drive... don't want to install a third option!

Ii there a way so that it only syncs one way - ie, my workstation sends it's updates to other machines, but they don't bother saving their settings?
__________________
www.jd3d.co.uk - I'm available for freelance work.
 
Old 08-22-2013, 10:40 PM   #4
Clanker
PRO
 
Clanker's Avatar
France
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Mmh i don't think so. You might want to check more advanced sync software like SyncBack then.
__________________

 
Old 08-24-2013, 12:48 PM   #5
MichaelWBell
Michael Wentworth-Bell
 
MichaelWBell's Avatar
portfolio
Michael Wentworth-Bell
Motion Graphics / 3D Artist
Reel Pictures
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 540
I'm very interested in this topic. Does anyone have any other suggestions or would like to share how much of their 3DS max ui / scripts / settings are synced across machines?

At the moment I sync only my main scripts on dropbox. these are scripts that run from the normal 'run script' folder (very easy to set up and generally max version independent). I was thinking of using Windows Junctions to share the Ui & script related folders of the Max installation to dropbox too but imagine that would cause problems?

I'm really, really interested in a way to sync (or at least easily backup and share) Custom toolbars, quad menus, scripts etc between different machines and even different versions of Max on the same machine (2012, 2014, etc).


If anyone has any further advice it would be much appreciated.
__________________
Michael Wentworth-Bell // Motion Graphics & 3D Artist // Melbourne, Australia

My Folio website
LODE Facebook page
 
Old 08-24-2013, 12:48 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.