CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 07:50 AM   #1
tomunnerstall
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Max 2010 obj import issue

Hi guys,
I'm encountering this frustrating issue with 3ds max 2010 whenever I try to import a .obj file that is seriously driving me mad.

Here's a screenshot:


As you can see, the OBJ import options interface is too big that there's no way for me to click "OK" (or is it "Import"? Can't see it.) button to finish importing, and it's window is not transformable nor scrollable.
I'm sure I was able to import .obj files well in the past. Not sure why I can't now.

I'm wondering if anyone has been troubled by this before, or is there anyway that I can fix it?

Thanks
 
Old 06-20-2013, 02:32 PM   #2
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
You might try and give this script a shot.

http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/reset-windows

Not sure if the obj import dialog is covered though.
__________________
www.davetyner.com
 
Old 06-20-2013, 03:46 PM   #3
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,908
Annoying when that happens isn't it?

Does it work if you just press return?
 
Old 06-20-2013, 04:45 PM   #4
cadmonkey33
Dabbler
 
cadmonkey33's Avatar
portfolio
Nat Saiger
Architectural CAD Tech
Leicester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 125
If you're on Windows 7, try holding the windows key and pressing left or right a few times.
__________________
It was the best of times, it was the blurst of times.

portfolio

 
Old 06-20-2013, 08:55 PM   #5
guruware
Expert
Thomas Hader
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 210
you are running with a resolution of 768 in height
the dialogs height is 728 which should fit on your screen
but you also use a somewhat big font, so the designed height of 728 is scaled (by windows) too much for your need
i would try a smaller font if you can't increase your screen-rez

guruware
 
Old 06-21-2013, 05:45 AM   #6
tomunnerstall
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by em3
You might try and give this script a shot.

http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/reset-windows

Not sure if the obj import dialog is covered though.

With the OBJ Import options window, I can't seem to drag the script to Max, which means I can't get it to use, sorry. :(
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinb
Annoying when that happens isn't it?

It sure is. I mean, what is a modelling program if you can't even import a simple filetype as .obj?
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinb
Does it work if you just press return?

I tried to press Enter/Return, but nothing happens.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadmonkey33
If you're on Windows 7, try holding the windows key and pressing left or right a few times.

It works for normal windows, but not for this damnable "Import Options". It just stands there like a wall, no matters what I do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by guruware
you are running with a resolution of 768 in height
the dialogs height is 728 which should fit on your screen
but you also use a somewhat big font, so the designed height of 728 is scaled (by windows) too much for your need
i would try a smaller font if you can't increase your screen-rez

guruware

So far I think this is the likeliest reason.
I checked my current windows font size, it's already the smallest possible (100%). And yes, 1360x768 is also the highest resolution I can get.

Thanks all for your helps though.
 
Old 06-22-2013, 03:30 PM   #7
tomunnerstall
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Well looks like the forums requires way~ more than 24 hours to validate my last post.

So out of rage I managed to import the .obj file successfully, by hitting 'space' button.

Still I'd like to know the how to fix this oddly large dialog that prevents me to have proper use of it.

Thanks again
 
Old 06-22-2013, 03:30 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.