Studio rendering in mental ray

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 06 June 2013   #1
Question Studio rendering in mental ray

Hi everyone. I am not new to 3ds max, but I am kind of new in terms of lightning and rendering. I have a problem that has been torturing me for the past 3 days and I was hoping I could get some help here. I've googled almost everything that I can think of to no result.

I am trying to get some realistic renders of a model I've been working on, therefore I am aiming to use photometric lights with mental ray. However, as soon as I switch to photometric, the decals on the model turn black. I've tried adjusting the exposure controls, light values, even the materials themselves, but it seems that nothing I try gives results. Here are the examples.

Rendering using standard omni with mental ray and no exposure:

Notice that the BEKO logo is dark blue (How it should be).

Rendering using photometric light with mental ray and photographic exposure.

The BEKO logo, as well as other elements are rich black.

I've uploadeded some snapshots of the settings I am using in case this helps:

I am using 3ds max 2011 with final gather preset to medium.

Every bit of advice would be very much appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Old 06 June 2013   #2
Mental ray material? Why? Try with Arch&Design.

Old 06 June 2013   #3
Composite alternative

Hi blank000,

The Mental Ray material was the only solution I could find that would let me setup the decals the way that I wanted them. If I just setup the composite material on the diffuse slot (as most people advise), then the decals would inherit the parent material properties (reflection, bump, etc.) and I don't want that.

I will try to find an alternative using the Arch&Design.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Old 06 June 2013   #4