Problems with different kinds of reflections

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 05 May 2013   #1
Problems with different kinds of reflections

Hello, i'm doing my bachelors degree project with which i encountered a problem. I am using Mental ray, and when i apply a standart material with raytrace reflections i get really neat reflections but some distortions in the bottom. When i use an architecture material like a mirror or someting reflective i dont get the distortions but the reflections are not as nice. Any ideas how to fix the raytrace problems or to achieve the same reflections via other means? Thanks in advice

this one is on standart with raytrace reflections

this one is an arhicetural material - mirror

this is the wireframe. the thing i notice is the reflections are distorted by the poligons. as if it is not smooth but it is. and when i add more smoothness it's still distorted

another question i have: the object is a scaled sphere and then i split it in 3 parts by detaching the mesh. I never moved any part of the object and in the render the boundaries of the objects can be seen. is there a way to avoid that? to look smooth without interuptions?

Last edited by Devailo1 : 05 May 2013 at 08:08 PM.

Old 05 May 2013   #2
Unless you really need to use a standard material I would just use the MR material

If you want to fix the seam where you separated the mesh, before separating the mesh, apply the Edit Normals modifier, and then select all of the normals and click Make Explicit
That will basically force the normals to always remain the same.