Layering an opacity material over object material

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Layering an opacity material over object material

Hi all,

I'm very new to 3D max, and I am trying to create an object with a logo on it. I have made the object and put a standard material on it. On one of the faces I wanted to put a logo. To do this I made a logo in Photoshop with an Alpha Layer, and using opacity applied it to the face I wanted, which worked. Trouble is, I want it to show the standard layer behind it rather than just having the rest of the face transparent.

I assume there's a way to layer materials, but I'm really stuck and can't figure it out. Hope that makes sense, I'd really appreciate someone's help figuring it out.

Thank you in advance.

05 May 2013
Use a 'blend' material or 'composite' material. Both should work if there's an alpha channel.

With a blend material you'll need to copy you bitmap (the one with the alpha) and plug that into the blend mix slot, in the bitmap settings, change mono channel to Alpha.

05 May 2013
Originally Posted by MisterS: With a blend material you'll need to copy you bitmap (the one with the alpha) and plug that into the blend mix slot, in the bitmap settings, change mono channel to Alpha.
No need to copy and keep track of multiple bitmap nodes. Instead use a Color Correction after the bitmap set to:
R: Alpha
G: Alpha
B: Alpha
A: One

Then link the Color Correction map to the Blend Mix. This can be used any time you want to extract the alpha from a bitmap without having multiple bitmap nodes for it.

-Eric

05 May 2013
Originally Posted by PiXeL_MoNKeY: No need to copy and keep track of multiple bitmap nodes. Instead use a Color Correction after the bitmap set to:
R: Alpha
G: Alpha
B: Alpha
A: One