CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2013, 05:27 PM   #1
Octavarium
New Member
portfolio
Sandro Barbosa
Portugal
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Holes pattern over a curved surface

I am having a problem with a model I'm making. I'm trying to create a pattern with holes over a curved surface. After very different approaches (all with no close to acceptable results at all) what I did was to create the pattern in a plane (with generate topology) extruded it, and then used it as the operand b in a ProBolean operation. Obviously it messed up the topology and the pattern still just comes from a plane, and not all around the mesh, in a way that every hole would be perpendicular to it (which is what I'm trying to achieve).


I'm sure there has to be a more clean and efficient way to do this... Any suggestions?


Here is an example of the problem:







Thank you.
 
Old 04-27-2013, 06:45 PM   #2
spacefrog
Frog of the posts
 
spacefrog's Avatar
Josef Wienerroither
Freelance
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,362
This is better done using the ShapeMerge Compount object:
This projects a spline/shape onto a mesh and has a cookie cutter option to remove the inner parts of closed shapes. The best thing about is that you still have access to the subobjects ( the shape in this case) and can easily edit the shapes, move the shape over the mesh surface, change the spline interpolation for finer cutted shapes etc..

See the attached file
What's missing in that file is some defrom on the shape object to make it similar to the mesh o you gonna project onto, otherwise you get distortion.
Note: an instance of the shape object in the example is in the ShapeMErge operator, thus when you edit the shape, the projected shapes gets changed too.
Transforms ( move,rotate,scales) have to happen on the instance in shapemerge operator though, ( or maybe you can place a Xfrom modifier onto the shape, that should push through to the shapemerge subobject)
Attached Files
File Type: zip HoleProject.zip (33.3 KB, 10 views)
__________________

PowerPreview: High Quality Nitrous Previews for 3ds Max 2012|2013|2014

[ Free Download (ScriptSpot) ]

Home of The Frogs | Online Portfolio
 
Old 04-27-2013, 08:10 PM   #3
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,854
There's cleaner ways of doing it, but it would require a much higher poly mesh
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 04-27-2013, 09:26 PM   #4
Octavarium
New Member
portfolio
Sandro Barbosa
Portugal
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thank you very much for spending time with this, spacefrog. It does work pretty well, and having the cuts as an instance of the shapes is very useful. Thank you.

darthviper107, can you elaborate? I will subdivide the mesh later on, and I'm not worried about the polycount at all on this one, so I can crank it up if that is what it takes to get a cleaner topology. Any tips are appreciated.

Thanks to both again.
 
Old 04-28-2013, 06:17 AM   #5
spacefrog
Frog of the posts
 
spacefrog's Avatar
Josef Wienerroither
Freelance
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octavarium
I will subdivide the mesh later on, and I'm not worried about the polycount at all on this one, so I can crank it up if that is what it takes to get a cleaner topology. Any tips are appreciated.


You might run into troubles with the subdivide, the mesh those holes produce is not very "subdivision-friendly". Be sure to check this early on, otherwise you might end having spent a lot of time on a non-subdividable mesh
__________________

PowerPreview: High Quality Nitrous Previews for 3ds Max 2012|2013|2014

[ Free Download (ScriptSpot) ]

Home of The Frogs | Online Portfolio
 
Old 04-28-2013, 07:31 AM   #6
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,854
For something like that, ideally the polys on the mesh would be around the same size as those holes, otherwise you'll get mesh artifacts. Artifacts can be caused by vertices in bad places or small polygons (like the holes) being attached to large polygons.

I think for something like that, you'd want to setup your topology to where you have a grid that follows the sort of grid pattern of the holes, then you could subdivide it until the polygons are about the same size as the holes, with some work you could get it to where you have a single polygon in each hole position and then that would make it much easier to create the holes with clean geometry.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 04-28-2013, 10:03 AM   #7
Octavarium
New Member
portfolio
Sandro Barbosa
Portugal
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Yes, I see what you mean. I was kind of afraid that that was the solution xD, because then I will still have to manually model the holes one by one, which depending on the complexity of the hole's shape, may not result in a very rigorous outcome. I was hoping there was some feature or modifier to do this - one that would still leave a subdividible mesh anyway - but it seems that there is no way around the hard work.

Thank you spacefrog and darthviper107 once again.

Last edited by Octavarium : 04-28-2013 at 02:28 PM.
 
Old 04-28-2013, 02:05 PM   #8
davius
Positive electron
 
davius's Avatar
portfolio
David Almeida
Part-time dreamer
Maceió, Brazil
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,449
Any of the solutions pointed up here should work. I think I would first try the solution suggested by Darthviper -create a grid pattern with the holes and then shape the bigger object with ffd's.
__________________
didali
 
Old 04-28-2013, 02:59 PM   #9
Octavarium
New Member
portfolio
Sandro Barbosa
Portugal
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
I'm sorry, what are ffd's?

Your suggestion is to first create the pattern in a plane, and then shape it into the bigger object? That could work. Actually, I have just tried something similar to that.

I selected a few faces from the mesh (the area that I wanted to pierce) and detached them to a new object. Then used generate topology on it, inset and deleted some faces. Reattached it to the main mesh, and apart from a couple of verts, it matched the topology.

It would still need some tweaking on the edges to make a smoother blending, but it's a lot faster than what I previously had.









I want to properly learn how to do this 'though, so if you can, please advise on the most legitimate way to achieve it.

Thank you very much.
 
Old 04-28-2013, 06:12 PM   #10
davius
Positive electron
 
davius's Avatar
portfolio
David Almeida
Part-time dreamer
Maceió, Brazil
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,449
Don't be fooled, there's no such thing as a "legitimate" way of modeling. If you get the wanted topology within the mesh budget you're ok. Also, I'm struggling too trying to model some shoe sole with all that denting.

FFD's are modifiers with them you can make rough deformations on your models to shape them.
__________________
didali
 
Old 05-01-2013, 05:49 PM   #11
timd1971
New Member
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Lightbulb ideas

maybe this?:
http://populate3d.com/products/panels/

can displacement maps and unwrap UV work?

what if you started out with a high poly flat object (http://populate3d.com/products/terrain/) with all the perforated holes in it and then bend/shape FFD the object to how you need it? kinda put your mind around it how it would actually be fabricated in the real world?
 
Old 05-02-2013, 04:37 PM   #12
Octavarium
New Member
portfolio
Sandro Barbosa
Portugal
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
That could work, yes. Have to give it a try.

Maps could probably do the trick, but I want to have the full piece modeled, as if it was meant for production.

Well, in this case it would be fabricated through plastic injection, which wouldn’t include any bending, but I get your idea. It's a nice approach to problems thinking of it that way.
 
Old 05-03-2013, 04:32 PM   #13
KellyM
Expert
 
KellyM's Avatar
Kelly Michels
3ds Max Beta Manager & Senior Autodesk MED QE
Autodesk
Kingwood, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by timd1971


I was just recently working on a render where this would have been really useful. I will check it out later today, looks very cool.
__________________
Twitter: @Kelly_Michels
kelly.michels@autodesk.com
3ds Max Senior QA / 3ds Max Beta Manager
M&E Division Beta Administrator
Autodesk, Inc
 
Old 05-03-2013, 06:54 PM   #14
Decency
Lord of the posts
 
Decency's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Pete Sedlacek
Visualization Specialist
PSVISUALS
St. Paul, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,151
Never knew about Shapemerge, thanks Spacefrog!
__________________
www.psvisuals.com - 3D Visualization and Content Creation
 
Old 05-03-2013, 08:45 PM   #15
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,854
You could also model it flat, and then take smooth version of the mesh and use Skin Wrap to attach the surface with holes on it to the smooth surface and then you could use the smooth version to position the one with holes, might be easier than FFD.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.