CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 08:47 AM   #1
thorsten hartmann
hot chip
 
thorsten hartmann's Avatar
Thorsten Hartmann
3D Artist
infinity vision
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,387
Bug: can´t install 3dsmax2014 on WINXP 64 Bit!

Hi Guys,

i am try to install the trail Version of 3dsmax design 2014 on WinXP 64Bit System, but it comes a error. On Win7 64Bit no problem, but on WinXP 64Bit Service Pack II, i become this error message: “inflateEnd” can´t found in “zlib.dll” ? Whats that?

zlib.dll is a File from 3dsmax in the /Setup/ Directory. Can anybody help?


mfg
hot chip
 
Old 04-15-2013, 09:40 AM   #2
pokoy
dental floss tycoon
 
pokoy's Avatar
portfolio
Marcin Gruszczyk
Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,355
From the online help:

'As of the 2014 version, Autodesk 3ds Max, Maya, MotionBuilder, Mudbox, and Softimage do not support 32-bit and Windows XP Operating Systems. Refer to your product supplement for further information on specific software.'

No XP, no 32 bits support.
 
Old 04-15-2013, 10:30 AM   #3
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
It should work on Windows XP 64bit as I was testing it on XP 64 bit.
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 04-15-2013, 11:38 AM   #4
thorsten hartmann
hot chip
 
thorsten hartmann's Avatar
Thorsten Hartmann
3D Artist
infinity vision
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,387
or my winxp 64bit is damaged, is a old computer here.
 
Old 04-15-2013, 12:01 PM   #5
pokoy
dental floss tycoon
 
pokoy's Avatar
portfolio
Marcin Gruszczyk
Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,355
Or SP3 is needed, maybe?
 
Old 04-15-2013, 01:04 PM   #6
fferro2
Expert
forensic animator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 489
No exists SP3 for 64 bits.
Updated Framework 4.0?
__________________
Fernando Ferro
www.reconstruccionvirtual.com
 
Old 04-15-2013, 03:04 PM   #7
thorsten hartmann
hot chip
 
thorsten hartmann's Avatar
Thorsten Hartmann
3D Artist
infinity vision
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,387
Framework 4.0 is updated, but the same, will not install work here.
 
Old 04-15-2013, 03:12 PM   #8
Ian31R
Expert
portfolio
Ian Adams
Freelancer
Kent, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 293
Max 2014 only supports Windows 7 and 8 64-bit, sorry man.
Quote:
System requirements for Autodesk® 3ds Max® 2014 and Autodesk® 3ds Max® Design 2014

3ds Max 2014 is supported on the following 64-bit operating systems and at a minimum requires a system with the following 64-bit specifications:

  • Windows® 8 or Windows® 7 64-bit Professional operating system
 
Old 04-15-2013, 06:42 PM   #9
thorsten hartmann
hot chip
 
thorsten hartmann's Avatar
Thorsten Hartmann
3D Artist
infinity vision
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,387
oh oh and thank you very much Ian31R, next time i must read all documentations.


What Guys "DaveWortley" had here wrote the WinXP install works. WTF!

mfg
hot chip
 
Old 04-15-2013, 07:24 PM   #10
jonadb
3D Artist
 
jonadb's Avatar
Jonathan de Blok
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,320
Unsupported != does not work.

It's more a case of "we have not tested it on XP and are not going to help you if you run into trouble" but it might work with some fiddling.

Do you really need to be on xp64?
__________________
The GPU revolution will not be rasterized! - http://www.jdbgraphics.nl
 
Old 04-15-2013, 07:31 PM   #11
KellyM
Expert
 
KellyM's Avatar
Kelly Michels
3ds Max Beta Manager & Senior Autodesk MED QE
Autodesk
Kingwood, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 394
Have you tried to re-download the install?

Have you tried to install after a fresh boot?
__________________
Twitter: @Kelly_Michels
kelly.michels@autodesk.com
3ds Max Senior QA / 3ds Max Beta Manager
M&E Division Beta Administrator
Autodesk, Inc
 
Old 04-15-2013, 09:27 PM   #12
hotknife
Expert
 
hotknife's Avatar
Andrew Whitney
Nottingham,
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,133
There's no way I want to update our render farm to windows 8, that fills me with fear and dredd. Hopefully there is a way to install to an Xp x64 machine.....
__________________
Renderfarm hire available @ www.hotknife.co.uk
 
Old 04-15-2013, 10:35 PM   #13
Ian31R
Expert
portfolio
Ian Adams
Freelancer
Kent, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotknife
There's no way I want to update our render farm to windows 8, that fills me with fear and dredd. Hopefully there is a way to install to an Xp x64 machine.....


Out with the old... Microsoft has done the same with Office 2013, only Win 7 and 8, other companies will probably follow...
 
Old 04-16-2013, 07:15 AM   #14
hotknife
Expert
 
hotknife's Avatar
Andrew Whitney
Nottingham,
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,133
I understand progression and all that, it's just that unless you are using Iray as your main renderer there no technical requirement/reason for a render server not to install the software under Xp. The best OS ever, apart from Win 3.1 that was fine as well.
It soon adds up cost wise to buy all those Os's.
__________________
Renderfarm hire available @ www.hotknife.co.uk
 
Old 04-16-2013, 07:23 AM   #15
jonadb
3D Artist
 
jonadb's Avatar
Jonathan de Blok
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotknife
I understand progression and all that, it's just that unless you are using Iray as your main renderer there no technical requirement/reason for a render server not to install the software under Xp. The best OS ever, apart from Win 3.1 that was fine as well.
It soon adds up cost wise to buy all those Os's.


Have you considered transitioning the farm to EC2?
__________________
The GPU revolution will not be rasterized! - http://www.jdbgraphics.nl
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.