Finding Things in Customize User Interface

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 04 April 2013   #1
Angry Finding Things in Customize User Interface

I'm a character modeler, I'm trying to set up a customized quad menu to speed up my workflow. The problem I'm running in to is that it's incredibly difficult to find things in the Customize Interface menu.

For example, right now I'm trying to find the functions that convert a spline vertex between corner, bezier, and smooth. For the life of me I cannot find it. I started my custom quad menu with a new blank set. It took me forever to figure out that the Graphite Modeling Tools were under PolyTools. I was looking for "Graphite Modeling Tools" because that's what made sense to me. If what makes sense to you isn't what made sense to whoever decided on the Group and Category names, you're screwed. Compound that with the fact that you often run into duplicate versions of modeling tools - one for Edit Poly and another for Edible Poly. It's INSANE! I really hope AD puts some time into cleaning this up. A search bar would be really helpful as well. I can tell that they tried to put things into logical catagories for organizational purposes, but it just isn't enough. Unless you happen to know exactly what they named the group and category in which the action you're looking for is nested, you're going to be sifting through this menu for a long time.

Is there any sort of resource out there that is useful to help people find specific tools they're looking for in this menu?

Old 04 April 2013   #2
Well:
Max 2014 has the new search menu, which should help for that

Another option is this little goodie
http://www.listary.com/