Old 03-30-2013, 09:45 PM   #1
ShawnMGS
portfolio
Shawn Sagady
MiND+GAMES(STUDIO)
New York, USA

Image or Light Keystone

Greetings,

I work as a projection designer for a living, and dabble in many things including Max. I quite frequently use Max to do pre-viz on projects to see how projections may look on a set, but 9/10 times I just render the set then hack it together in Photoshop.

I have been trying to come up with a way to use ability to turn the spotlight into a projector to rough in actual positions/lensing of where the projectors would be in real life and then do renderings with those for more realistic pre-viz. The problem I have encountered though is I can not find a way to either keystone the light its self (spotlight set to rectangle with projector map enabled) or which I think would be the better solution, have the ability to corner pin/keystone the material I am using for the projector map.

Of course I can pre-keystone everything in photoshop/after effects, but at that point im right back to where i started. My goal is to speed up my workflow and actually get a sense of how everything will fit together within max, without having to fake it in PS/AE and hope it all works in the end.

If anyone knows a trick in max that would allow me to do this, or a plugin, or custom shader or what ever it would be greatly appreciated. I am at my wits end searching for the answer.

Old 04-03-2013, 12:23 AM   #2
raffo
Veteran

portfolio
. .
Berlin, Germany

If i understand you right, Camera Mapping with the Vray-Physical-Camera should do it.
You can keystone using the vertical & horizontal shift. See Attachment. In the example i am projecting a texture with horizontal shift at a plane.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg VrayCameraMapping_with_Shift.jpg (76.9 KB, 14 views)

Old 04-03-2013, 03:20 AM   #3
ShawnMGS
portfolio
Shawn Sagady
MiND+GAMES(STUDIO)
New York, USA