CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 06:09 AM   #1
doody
Frequenter
doody
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 193
Vray DR need to convert entire scene to UNC Paths

I have a large scene, and vray only distribute renders when textures, Ies lights, etc... have unc paths. But it would take me forever to path each textures from different folders to UNC paths. in asset tracker in 3dsmax 2013 there is a "resolve path to UNC location. But that doesn't seem to convert the paths to UNC. does any one know a way to convert them all, or is there a script that does that?

Thanks!
 
Old 03-27-2013, 07:15 PM   #2
doody
Frequenter
doody
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 193
nothing out there to help with this?
 
Old 03-28-2013, 03:57 AM   #3
humbert
New Member
portfolio
m t
bay area, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
I have used DR with regular paths set to relative and everything was fine. There is an option in asset tracking to change root only if you just need to switch the drive letter.
 
Old 03-28-2013, 10:22 AM   #4
DanGrover
Know-it-All
portfolio
Dan Grover
Technical Director
River Film
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 355
Send a message via MSN to DanGrover
The Asset Tracker has been utterly busted for a long time, with "make relative" often making it based on network folder shared drive letters, etc. However, try hitting the UNC button and then hitting refresh - it works more often than it doesn't, but you don't see it until you hit refresh (unlike "relative" which, whilst not actually making it relative, seems to refresh itself quite well).

That said, I use VRay DR all the time and rarely use UNC paths, so are you certain that's the problem?
__________________

 
Old 03-28-2013, 10:54 AM   #5
Ryiu
New Member
portfolio
Midge
Antwerp, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
You could use the "Retarget common root" command in the Asset Tracker.
Just look for the highest common folder of your flies and retarget to that one.
 
Old 03-28-2013, 12:17 PM   #6
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,845
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
I bit of scripting can help here...

Code:
( thePath = @"D:\*" uncPath = @"\\myserver\" for o in getclassinstances bitmaptexture do ( if matchpattern o.filename pattern:thePath do o.filename = replace o.filename 1 3 uncPath ) for o in getclassinstances VrayHDRI do ( if matchpattern o.HDRIMapName pattern:thePath do o.HDRIMapName = replace o.filename 1 3 uncPath ) )


This doesn't catch every single bitmap in max but it gets most of them.
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 03-28-2013, 12:17 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.