CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 01:22 AM   #1
feelin' frisky?
Papigiulio's Avatar
Osaka, Japan
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 204
3d max 2012 doesn't load scene, nor shut down

I have a pretty high-end system [windows 7 64 bit, i7-2700 3.5, 8gb ram, Nvidia quadro 2000D] and everything was working great until last week.

Iím working with high-poly scenes plus minus 500.000 polys around 60 Mb files. And it was working normally until last week max started to suddenly lag and now when I want to load another scene I have to kill max in the taskmanager because it simply doesnít respond anymore. Nor does it shut down.

Any clues to where I could find a solution?

much appreciated.
Old 02-25-2013, 10:26 AM   #2
Frederik De%2BMaere
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Thumbs up

Try to merge/salvage the scene that is probably corrupt in a new scene.
Follow me on Twitter
Old 02-26-2013, 12:28 AM   #3
feelin' frisky?
Papigiulio's Avatar
Osaka, Japan
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 204
Yeah tried that, but it seems its not a corrupt scene, it happens with all files.
Old 02-26-2013, 10:20 AM   #4
Byteman3D's Avatar
Nezih Kanbur
Graphic Designer
Istanbul, Turkey
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 574
Send a message via ICQ to Byteman3D Send a message via MSN to Byteman3D
I once had a similar situation when all of a sudden curve editor started not to open anymore. I used the curve editor under the user interface for some time.

If you're lucky enough a setup of Max from scratch might help, in worst case you might need a new Windows setup. Don't mean to worry you, but such cases resemble a hardware failure, like power supply. When you overclock a system or normally the power is not enough for some reason, software may behave erratic.

I've experienced a hard drive failure in the past which manifested the situation with meaningless lags also. Probably not like your case, but Windows was running and just getting stuck during harddisk operations, I suspected the hard disk. checked and it was completely corrupted after a few attempts.

Hope you find a solution soon.
Old 02-27-2013, 06:41 AM   #5
TheOnlyAaron's Avatar
Aaron Dabelow
Technical Director
Minneapolis, United States Minor Outlying Islands
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 291
Originally Posted by Papigiulio
Any clues to where I could find a solution?

This happens to me quite often, not just with Max, but also after effects, especially when multi processing is turned on.

I don't have a solution to stop the buggy beheivor, but I did write some, bat files I keep in a dock on my taskbar that kill the processes directly. something along the lines of "taskkill 3dsmax.exe" should do the trick.
Debris Maker
Old 02-28-2013, 07:13 AM   #6
feelin' frisky?
Papigiulio's Avatar
Osaka, Japan
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 204
Thanks for the replies. Ive found that it was mostly due to the large scene. 500.000 polys with a 60 mb filesize. Couldnt find any other reason yet. :/
Old 03-03-2013, 09:25 PM   #7
Lord of the posts
okmijun's Avatar
Zdravko Barisic
Belgrade, Serbia
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 524
try playing with switching display driver, D3D <> NITROUS... and then opening the scene.
Old 03-03-2013, 09:25 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.