CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2013, 09:27 AM   #1
programm
New Member
portfolio
wewewewewewewewewewe
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Botswana
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
2 issues, help pls

I am using the latest M3 export plugin and a model I imported fails to export. Anyway the issues are:

1. How do I weight vertices with which Modifier, I get an error when trying to export to M3 with latest plugin? From the instructions of the M3 plugin, 'Vertices must be weighted via a skin modifer applied to a mesh' - How do I do that> Or i get:

Runtime error 'Vertex weighed to undefined bone'


2. How do I make the texture render alpha channel? The model in the viewport shows the texture parts with black instead of alpha (transparent). I click 'Unshaded' 'Unfogged' '2 side' and render Alpha only such flags are seen in the plugin but in the Viewport I see the alpha is black.

Last edited by programm : 02-19-2013 at 09:30 AM.
 
Old 02-19-2013, 09:39 AM   #2
scrimski
antieverything
portfolio
J. Schreyer
head->wall
ARRI Berlin
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,979
Quote:
1. How do I weight vertices with which Modifier, I get an error when trying to export to M3 with latest plugin? From the instructions of the M3 plugin, 'Vertices must be weighted via a skin modifer applied to a mesh' - How do I do that>

Which modifier? Skin, like stated in the error message.
How?
http://download.autodesk.com/us/3ds...umber=d28e99920

Or youtube
https://www.youtube.com/user/3dsMax...deos?query=skin
Quote:
Or i get:

Runtime error 'Vertex weighed to undefined bone'

No idea. Any links to the plugins reference/doc files?
 
Old 02-19-2013, 02:15 PM   #3
programm
New Member
portfolio
wewewewewewewewewewe
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Botswana
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
http://www.sc2mapster.com/media/fil...lugins_v2.2.zip

These are the plug ins. The error happens when trying to export, so I have to fix their weights to be able to export successfully. Not sure how to do it, the links you posted, I found the modifier and the options but I don't think I did anything, just selected, changed some weight valeus and still nothing, the same error.

I can give you the model which is a simple model (yeah just 2 planes) and if you use the M3 export script (I set texture and all, only needs to be exported), then please do if you know how to fix it. I don't get it, it's like I would need step by step.

So if anyone feels like giving that a try can export without an error, then let me know, though I would like to see what you fixed.

Last edited by programm : 02-20-2013 at 05:03 PM.
 
Old 02-19-2013, 04:13 PM   #4
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,920
Look up the skin modifier in the 3ds Max help doc. You apply the modifier and then add the bones to the modifier and assign the weight influence for the bones on the vertices. Most likely it's giving an error if there's vertices that aren't weighted.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 02-20-2013, 05:04 PM   #5
programm
New Member
portfolio
wewewewewewewewewewe
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Botswana
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Did it and I get a new error when trying to export:

MAXScript Rollout Handler Exception
-----
Unknown property: "init" in undefined
-----
OK
-------

if modl.sc2tight[1] = M3E_Tight.init()
(modl.sc2tight[1] == undefined) then

now what do i do
 
Old 02-20-2013, 10:32 PM   #6
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,920
Could be an issue with the script, it said it's only been tested up to 3ds Max 2012 so maybe there's an issue with version 2013
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 02-21-2013, 07:20 AM   #7
programm
New Member
portfolio
wewewewewewewewewewe
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Botswana
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
I use 3ds max design 2011 x64 but it's all good, got help from another place since they are more familiar with the M3 and export/ The video above helped me though, to weght the vertexes, just that new errors came. In the future I will use some art tools that are more convenient than this export, now 1 guy did it for me, so thanks for the help.
 
Old 02-21-2013, 07:20 AM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.