CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 05:35 AM   #1
Tekspdy
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan H
Mountlake Terrace, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Texture not showing in viewport correctly

I started to texture a tree, and ran into an issue. This is the first time texturing in 2013, the last time I textured was in Max 2009. So either I'm doing something wrong, or the program is messed up. I made my UVW template, made my texture over it, and it won't display in the viewport properly. I've attached two images:

The setup:


And the texture not appearing correctly on the model:



Help would be extremely appreciated!
 
Old 01-23-2013, 08:41 AM   #2
Bobo
Krakatoa Guy
 
Bobo's Avatar
Borislav Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,320
You might have to uncheck the "Use Real-World Scale" in the texture map.
It is on by default in 3ds Max Design, and off in 3ds Max Entertainment install. Looking at the Reflectance and Transmittance display in the Material Editor, it looks like you are running with the architectural viz. presets which include Real-World Scaling of mapping coordinates. This will result in significant tiling of the texture within the existing UVs created in the Unwrap modifier...
__________________
Bobo
 
Old 01-23-2013, 08:51 AM   #3
Tekspdy
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan H
Mountlake Terrace, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
I tried the checkbox, no luck.

I did notice what you said though about the aviz, though no idea how to get out of it. I thought making the Standard preset would remove it, but it doesn't. Can you tell me how to remove it please? Thanks!
 
Old 01-23-2013, 12:54 PM   #4
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,908
It looks like you haven't checked the display texture checkbox in the material (although it could be checked at the material level. The little checkerboard icon in the material editor.
 
Old 01-23-2013, 01:42 PM   #5
Tekspdy
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan H
Mountlake Terrace, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobo
*snip*


Not sure if there's a subscription thing here, so quoting you so you can see my response.

@Rob, it's actually checked. No idea why it's not showing in that screenshot.

EDIT: Problem fixed by following this guide: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servle...&linkID=9241177

Last edited by Tekspdy : 01-23-2013 at 03:38 PM.
 
Old 01-23-2013, 01:42 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.