CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Old 01-08-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
John Anderson
Antrim, USA
3DS Max Texture Caching Excessive Data

Hey all,

I'm having a problem where a newly installed 3DS Max on a newly built system is excessively caching textures to a temp folder... in excess of 50GB! Additionally, the playback frame rate using FRAPS is abysmal... at 1 FPS when my four year old notebook plays it through smoothly. The scene that we tested has 14 (4K Tris) skinned to bipeds with 500 frames of animation, default lighting and standard materials with diffuse maps only, 2048x2048 1MB JPEGs. There are only two of these materials in the entire scene. We were testing the scene the other day and noticed that it had been filling a temp folder on the SSD with over 50GB of texture cache data. The friend who built the computer wrote this on the Autodesk AREA forum:

Let me first confess that I’m a complete 3DS novice so I am not familiar with the terminology. I’m observing a massive slowdown and am trying to root cause and eliminate it. After poking around for a few days and searching the web, I’ve yet to find a solution.
I selected components and built a machine specifically for 3DS Max 2013, and installed the trial version. A friend gave me a scene to play with to help me up the learning curve. It’s rather simple and includes some character animation. While rotating the scene around with ‘orbit sub-object’ and either ‘realistic’ or ‘shaded’ I get 35-40 FPS. However, when I hit the ‘Play Animation’ icon, the animation runs at 1 FPS. CPU load is <20%, GPU load is <10%, but disk I/O is half a GIGAByte per second (~500 MBytes/sec) - see the attached capture of disk activity from the Windows 7 Resource Monitor. Given the names of the files, it looks like the software is thrashing a texture cache on disk. However, the CPU has 27 GB of DRAM free and the GPU has nearly 3 GB of GDDR5 free.