CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 12:58 PM   #1
stoobz
New Member
lude
Wuerzburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Leading Zeros

Hey there -

is there anyway to influence the number of leading zeros for the renderoutput in Max2011?
So if Im rendering a short range, e.g. from frame 0 to 10 the output is like image0001, image0002 and so on.
I would like it to be image01, image02....

I just found a possibility to influence the leading zeros for copying objects with putting the maxOps.nameSuffixLength into the 3dsmax.ini, but nothing for the render-related stuff.

any ideas?
thanx alot in advance for any help!
 
Old 01-08-2013, 03:47 AM   #2
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,000
Good question.

I don't know of a preference, not to say that there isn't one, I just don't happen to know it.

You could do one of two things the easiest being use Total Commander or similar batch rename tools or write your own render output script.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 01-08-2013, 02:32 PM   #3
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoobz
maxOps.nameSuffixLength


Is for controlling the way objects get named, In older versions of max you would have
Box01, Box02, Box03

now it's

Box001, Box002, Box003

Because maxOps.nameSuffixLength = 3
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 01-08-2013, 04:26 PM   #4
lo
the frequentest!
portfolio
Rotem Shiffman
Tel Aviv, Israel
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,840
I think this is hardcoded deep inside 3dsmax.
 
Old 01-08-2013, 04:34 PM   #5
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyRandom
You could do one of two things the easiest being use Total Commander or similar batch rename tools or write your own render output script.
I personally use Lupas Rename. As far as I can tell the number is hardcoded with no way to alter through the UI or maxscript. There are ways to script around it, but probably more trouble than it is worth.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 01-08-2013, 08:25 PM   #6
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,020
I swear there was a setting for that somewhere.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 01-08-2013, 08:33 PM   #7
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,669
No, there is the file base number, but that is simply the number where you start counting from. There aren't any rendering tags to handle the zerofill stuff.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 01-08-2013, 11:12 PM   #8
Gravey
3D Dude
Joel Hewitt
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 880
the answer is simple. in your output filename, instead of putting just filename.jpg use filename00.jpg
the number of zeros you place at the end of your filename is the number of characters used for the frame number.
so the result will be filename01.jpg, filename99.jpg etc

EDIT: i just tried this an it turns out it only works when you put 4 or more zeros at the end of your filename. 2 and 3 zeros behaves like the zeros are just part of the filename, not frame number, so you end up with 6 and 7 length numbers respectively...

Last edited by Gravey : 01-08-2013 at 11:20 PM.
 
Old 01-08-2013, 11:25 PM   #9
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,669
Nope. test00.png renders test000000.png, test000001.png, etc. Just tried it.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 01-08-2013, 11:45 PM   #10
Gravey
3D Dude
Joel Hewitt
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiXeL_MoNKeY
Nope. test00.png renders test000000.png, test000001.png, etc. Just tried it.
indeed, see my edit
 
Old 01-09-2013, 12:11 AM   #11
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,669
I saw that after my post and didn't think we needed me editing my post to reflect your edit, which came before my post.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 01-09-2013, 01:04 AM   #12
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
If you are using Deadline you can control this.
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 01-09-2013, 02:03 AM   #13
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiXeL_MoNKeY
I personally use Lupas Rename.


That thing is pretty dam robust, thanks for the pointer
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 01-09-2013, 02:03 AM   #14
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.