CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
arthursw
New Member
portfolio
arthur
Rien
Rennes, France
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Question Rendering video (without flickering effet, with ambiant occlusion)

Hi,
When rendering settings are not very precise, lighting computation (ambiant occlusion) is not identical in each frame, this leads to flickering effects on videos.
What is the best way to solve this problem ?
Does this problem only occur when rendering with GPU renderer (Quicksliver hardware renderer) ?
One solution is to precompute the lighting (and it would drastically improve rendering speed) but this means manually texturing every objects of the scene with light textures, which is a tedious work ! Is there an easy and fast solution ?
How do professionals render videos to avoid this effect ?
Thanks a lot !
Arthur
 
Old 01-06-2013, 05:40 PM   #2
arthursw
New Member
portfolio
arthur
Rien
Rennes, France
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Anyone has a solution for the flickering effect ? No easy texture precomputing on 3Ds max ? Then how do pros work ?
 
Old 01-08-2013, 09:16 AM   #3
lehmi
I like onions
 
lehmi's Avatar
portfolio
Alexander Lehmann
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 497
Send a message via ICQ to lehmi
what renderer are you using?

In a static scene you can always render to textures. That way the light is definitely static and renderspeed could even be realtime.

You can also bake final gather maps with mental ray.

Without knowing your scene and your renderer there is no answer to your question, as there are so many different techniques.

In a dynamic scene where things are moving you often have to take the path of tweaking your settings to a point where it looks good (no flickering) but doesn't take too long to render...
 
Old 01-08-2013, 03:15 PM   #4
ZephyrStar
Random Animation Goon
 
ZephyrStar's Avatar
Chris Bobko
Indie Animator
Raleigh, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 270
Are you rendering a separate AO pass, or with the scene?
__________________
www.zephyrstar.com
 
Old 01-08-2013, 03:15 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.