Do you also feel cheated?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2013   #1
Do you also feel cheated?

I have been working in the industry for quite a few years now, and ever since I began using 3ds max 6 I have seen the program evolving through the years.
Lately, pretty much like Microsoft Windows are releasing a new "operating systems" under a huge software bundles that are pretty much nothing more than eye candys making you feel something new and better is happening, and some small utilities, I have just seen Autodesk's 3DS Max 2013 new features, and sincerely, I just don't get it. Revit connection? new ActiveShade for my viewport? Are these and their likes are a good reason for me to purchase a NEW software for my office? Is THIS the reason why I need to keep up to the pace of other offices because of legacy support?

Why not fix that right-click menu bug that is halfway visible many times and you can't tell if it's there? How about real new modifiers? What about something new and replenishing for that software like Cinema-4D's MoGraph? Am I the only one feeling like that?

Old 01 January 2013   #2
i think most of us are aware of this - but i wouldn't blame anyone - because - if you look around, you will see that every big software which is 10+ years on the market has the same problem.
Its nearly impossible to do a complete rewrite, many jobs - (not only programming, also the whole marketing etc.) depend on this, and bigger company = less flexible. Most studios have their pipelines set up so it works the way it is, plugins etc. etc.
I dont know about cinema, but i would say maya is in a similar mess.
Just look at autocad, 30 years now and the whole thing is not even WYSIWYG..
So - just forget it, it wont change anymore - look out for other upcoming software and use what you have until something better comes along

Old 01 January 2013   #3