UV mapping complex forms like airplane noses

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 12 December 2012   #1
Question UV mapping complex forms like airplane noses

Hi, I'm new to CG Society and I have about 1 year of 3ds Max experience. I'm modeling a jet for Flight Simulator X and I've gotten to the point where it requires textures, and to make them look realistic, I need to map parts like the fuselage VERY well, so there isn't any distortion or blurring present on the texture. I saw this video once where a 3D artist named Javier Rollon was mapping his airplane (The video goes really fast though) and it looked like he used some kind of Shrink Wrap mapping, but I'm not sure. Here's the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2bESAopm4M

And here's a picture of the real plane, so you can see the real shape of the nose:

http://www.airliners.net/photo/Air-...7d5d8c8d698c5f8

I tried Shrink Wrapping mine, and it almost looked like the one in the video, but still I was unhappy with the results. Is there some kind of secret technique that I haven't discovered yet to UVW map objects like this? I'm REALLY picky about how my textures look. (By the way, please don't suggest planar mapping the whole fuselage.)

Thanks in advance to whoever can guide me to do this the right way!

Old 12 December 2012   #2
Anybody here? :(

Old 01 January 2013   #3
You're probably not getting any responses because this is a modelling question, not a texturing one. I'll move this to the Max forum.

Old 01 January 2013   #4