CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Wire parameters and CAT?

Hey,

as I posted previously in this thread Im trying to figure out how to combine the benefits of a custom bone rig with the layer animations and pose storing capabilities of CAT.

I got through some initial troubles quite well and most of it is working as intended.
What I cant get to work though:

The wire parameters I set up in setup mode dont translate in any layers.
As far as Ive understood, this should work, if I tick "animation matrix" and "additive to setup mode" in the cat bones hierarchy panel - but it doesnt.
So id like to know if this is just how it works, or if Im just doing it wrong?
I wired some point helpers to CAT bones, in case that information helps...

Because If its like that, Id have to setup the wiring on an animation Layer, and do it everytime i load the rig into a new scene...
 
Old 12-04-2012, 01:04 PM   #2
Graeck
CAT User
 
Graeck's Avatar
portfolio
Gregor Wei
Character TD & Animator
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via ICQ to Graeck
Use "Animation Controller" instead of "Static Matrix" and you'll get your custom controllers in Setup Mode where you can wire as needed.
__________________
My Demoreel 2011:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gfq-4VoeAPU
 
Old 12-04-2012, 01:24 PM   #3
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Hey Grck,

thats what I did and I can wire as I please in setup mode..but the wires are gone in animation mode...
 
Old 12-04-2012, 01:45 PM   #4
Graeck
CAT User
 
Graeck's Avatar
portfolio
Gregor Wei
Character TD & Animator
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via ICQ to Graeck
Not sure if there are any new problems in the laterst Max versions. Still using 2011 and it's working fine there.
__________________
My Demoreel 2011:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gfq-4VoeAPU
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:16 PM   #5
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Meh, that would be nasty..Ill have to check the bug reports then.
Just to make sure: Its not a problem to wire CAT bones to any other objects, like I said, Ive wired some Point helpers to some extra CAT bones, that should work aswell?

I guess Ill just test it out to confirm if its because of max 2012 or If im just doing or thinking something wrong...
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:16 PM   #6
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
But thanks for the reply!
Anymore tutorials coming out from you any time soon?
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:18 PM   #7
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
And since youre already here...I havent done extensive research into scripting with CAT yet - do you by any chance know how to access "additive to setup" and "animation matrix" via maxscript?
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:34 PM   #8
Graeck
CAT User
 
Graeck's Avatar
portfolio
Gregor Wei
Character TD & Animator
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via ICQ to Graeck
I think I know what you are trying to do / doing wrong.

You are wiring to a controller in Setup Mode, right? Well, of course this doesn't work as this controller does never change its values as you are not animating them. You are animating totally different controllers in Animation Mode. You need to use an ExposeTm helper to capture the values and wire your helpers to that one instead of the CATbone.

For MaxScript access to those options do:

$[3][1].UseSetupController = true
$[3][1].AdditiveToSetupValue = true

Tutorials, well, yes, I had plans to do some for a very long time. Well, still trying to figure out the best moment to do that Actually I should wait for a new Max version were finally the most ciritcal CAT issues are fixed so I can actually create a good tutorial...
__________________
My Demoreel 2011:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gfq-4VoeAPU
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:44 PM   #9
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Oh yeah, that sounds about right. Damnit, I already read about this some time ago...

Well thanks and thanks for the Maxscript..

And I feel with you about CAT...
Even though custom bone rigs might be more stable or versatile to build, there is still plenty of need for a system like CAT thats fast and easy to set up for actual production with tight deadlines...
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:50 PM   #10
Graeck
CAT User
 
Graeck's Avatar
portfolio
Gregor Wei
Character TD & Animator
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,052
Send a message via ICQ to Graeck
The good thing is you can extent CAT with custom stuff and have the goodies of both worlds in one rig. The only thing is you need to know how to do it and work around the limits. This is sometimes a bit counter-productive and complicated but if you do it right, you can get really powerful rigs with the benfits of CAT's layer system and CATMotion.

We are using CAT right now for a pretty big feature movie. So this proves CAT is suitable for more advanced, high quality stuff.
__________________
My Demoreel 2011:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gfq-4VoeAPU
 
Old 12-04-2012, 07:40 PM   #11
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
Yeah, cant be said enough...good documentation is everything...

Im looking forward to the big feature film, you probably cant talk about it a lot yet, so keep us updated once there is more info available!
 
Old 12-04-2012, 09:03 PM   #12
insertmesh
Expert
 
insertmesh's Avatar
portfolio
Samuel Enslin
3D Generalist
Acolori Medienproduktion GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 474
And just to confirm:
Using an exposeTm helper on the Cat bone Im wiring works like a charm! Thanks again!
 
Old 12-04-2012, 09:03 PM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.