CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 01:43 PM   #1
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Wooden Flooring Noise?

Hi guys,

When it comes to texturing in 3ds Max, I'm no expert. So can anyone help me explain how to remove the noise from the wooden flooring?
I'm using an Arch & Design material with a map in the Diffuse, Reflection Colour, and Bump channels.
Reflectivity: 0.5
Glossiness: 0.5
Glossy Samples: 32
Bump: 0.2

I know it's a low resolution render, but even at a higher resolution there isn't much difference - please help

Thanks in advance.
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-02-2012, 03:14 PM   #2
CHRiTTeR
On the run!
 
CHRiTTeR's Avatar
Chris
Graphic designer extraordinaire
Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,372
reflection samples?
 
Old 12-02-2012, 04:52 PM   #3
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Hi there, how do increase the reflection samples in an Arch & Design material?
I cannot find this setting
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-03-2012, 04:05 PM   #4
DanHibiki
Expert
 
DanHibiki's Avatar
portfolio
- -
Senior 3d Animator
Invivo communications
Richmond Hill, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,802
you seem to have noise all over the place, so I think it's your render settings.
 
Old 12-03-2012, 09:12 PM   #5
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Is there anything that I can change in my render settings to stop this noise?
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:27 AM   #6
DanHibiki
Expert
 
DanHibiki's Avatar
portfolio
- -
Senior 3d Animator
Invivo communications
Richmond Hill, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,802
well... what are your render settings?
 
Old 12-05-2012, 10:33 PM   #7
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Sorry for the late reply. I have attached a screen shot if that's any good? Does this help?
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-06-2012, 10:34 AM   #8
MisterS
seeking knowledge
 
MisterS's Avatar
portfolio
David Spittle
Civil Design Drafter
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 813
It's hard to tell from the resolution of the image - It could be a sampling issue - or perhaps a problem with the bump map?
 
Old 12-06-2012, 09:11 PM   #9
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Sorry about that I have attached a better resolution image.
Do you think I need to tweak Final Gather settings too?
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-06-2012, 09:51 PM   #10
MisterS
seeking knowledge
 
MisterS's Avatar
portfolio
David Spittle
Civil Design Drafter
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 813
I meant the render is hard to see. You should tackle this by a process of elimination. Try hiding all but a few objects, perhaps even the walls and then adjust settings one at a time and doing test renders until you find the culprit.

It could still be an antialiasing sampling issue - you can render a small region that shows the problem area and then can up your settings until you get the desired result without long render times.


Also try switching your bump off, what is the result? From the low res image, it looks like you have no problem with te reflective work top.
 
Old 12-06-2012, 09:54 PM   #11
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Thank you! I shall give that a go and let you know the outcome.
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-06-2012, 11:49 PM   #12
Dillster
Always Learning
 
Dillster's Avatar
portfolio
Dylan Saunders
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,643
I must be the only one that can't see any render in your posts.
__________________
I like to learn.
 
Old 12-07-2012, 02:23 PM   #13
DanHibiki
Expert
 
DanHibiki's Avatar
portfolio
- -
Senior 3d Animator
Invivo communications
Richmond Hill, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,802
Huh... that is quite odd. Your render settings seem fine to me and there's nothing particularly wrong with the shader settings either.

Hard to guess this one... i'd maybe look at the light settings or maybe you're using camera Multi-pass Depth of Field?
 
Old 12-07-2012, 10:38 PM   #14
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Sorry Dillster I had ro remove it as I have limited space - but I have now uploaded it again!

DanHibiki - I'm not using Multi-pass or DOF. What do you mean by light settings? Anything in particular?

Thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Moulding Options 021212 LR 2.jpg (61.9 KB, 13 views)
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Old 12-07-2012, 11:05 PM   #15
alias09
New Member
portfolio
Manish Gajjar
Leicester, GB
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
After using the process of elimination technique, it turns out it's the bump map causing this issue? Does this mean my map is low resolution? Strange as my maps is over 5MB!
Any suggestions?
__________________
--
3ds Max Design 2012
Dell XPS 730x - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz
12 GB RAM
64 - bit Operating System
NVIDIA Quadro 6000
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.