CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 07:08 PM   #1
AcidBoyXL
_.d[*_*]b._
 
AcidBoyXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Send a message via ICQ to AcidBoyXL
Max 2013 and Windows 8

Hi,

anyone else having a problem with drag & drop under Windows 8?

Mine isn't working at all, appears that whole Max window is inactive for that function, can't drop any files into max, scenes, maps, all kind of 3d formats :/
I've tried to run both as a administrator and in compatibility modes, anyone on Win8 ?

Regards
__________________

 
Old 11-21-2012, 10:09 AM   #2
ihack
Veteran
 
ihack's Avatar
portfolio
gartst nicnam
3D Modeler
AvicVision
China
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 43
Send a message via MSN to ihack
Red face

i work on windows 7 and play around on windows 8,not dare to do design on windows 8 now...
 
Old 11-21-2012, 12:32 PM   #3
AcidBoyXL
_.d[*_*]b._
 
AcidBoyXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Send a message via ICQ to AcidBoyXL
well, I've installed a new machine on win8 and still waiting to transfer my mind to it but here I have a first wall on my way
I just wonder if its something here or a common thing,
Both Autodesk and Microsoft are starting to post that 3d max i Windows 8 compatible.. from this basic drag & drop fail I judge it isn't..
__________________

 
Old 11-21-2012, 12:53 PM   #4
Phlok
Coffee Drinker
 
Phlok's Avatar
Flo K.
FX TD
Freelance
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 393
Please pardon the noise, but I couldn't resist:

http://www.useit.com/alertbox/windows-8.html
__________________
"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by" - Douglas Adams -
 
Old 11-21-2012, 01:13 PM   #5
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
quoted from phlok's link above:

"One of the worst aspects of Windows 8 for power users is that the product's very name has become a misnomer. "Windows" no longer supports multiple windows on the screen. Win8 does have an option to temporarily show a second area in a small part of the screen, but none of our test users were able to make this work. Also, the main UI restricts users to a single window, so the product ought to be renamed "Microsoft Window."

This short paragraph is the ONLY thing I need to know about windows 8 to completely give it as wide a berth as possible. It would be like going back to the days of a single monitor. I couldn't envisage any 3D user going anywhere near this.

They can keep their touchscreen gimmicks. I have a Wacom, thanks.......
 
Old 11-21-2012, 01:37 PM   #6
Decency
Expert
 
Decency's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Pete Sedlacek
Visualization Specialist
PSVISUALS
St. Paul, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashidan
quoted from phlok's link above:

"One of the worst aspects of Windows 8 for power users is that the product's very name has become a misnomer. "Windows" no longer supports multiple windows on the screen."


What exactly does this mean? Does this mean you can't have say, Photoshop and 3ds Max open on two monitors at the same time?
__________________
www.psvisuals.com - 3D Visualization and Content Creation
 
Old 11-21-2012, 03:20 PM   #7
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decency
What exactly does this mean? Does this mean you can't have say, Photoshop and 3ds Max open on two monitors at the same time?


Exactly! So if you had Max/PS open plus reference images/textures in multiple windows and maybe
your browser, you're limited to a solitary window at a time. Excuse the language: But what a load of bollocks!!
 
Old 11-21-2012, 04:29 PM   #8
Whirlwind123
Frequenter
 
Whirlwind123's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Myers
Senior 3D Artist
Teabag Studios
Leeds, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashidan
Exactly! So if you had Max/PS open plus reference images/textures in multiple windows and maybe
your browser, you're limited to a solitary window at a time. Excuse the language: But what a load of bollocks!!


Surly that is just for the new big button layout start menu thing and not the actual desktop though right?
__________________
-----
www.deliriumpixels.com
 
Old 11-21-2012, 04:47 PM   #9
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind123
Surly that is just for the new big button layout start menu thing and not the actual desktop though right?


I think it's some kind of ribbon-like tabbed system so in effect you can have multiple tabs but only view them individually. The OP is up and running on 8 so maybe he can shed some light on it for us.
 
Old 11-21-2012, 05:51 PM   #10
AcidBoyXL
_.d[*_*]b._
 
AcidBoyXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Send a message via ICQ to AcidBoyXL
well.. lack of drag and drop its not a matter of dual screen setup or these limitations you pointed in the article.. , 3d max and photoshop run well on 2 screens and all seems to be as it was, besides drag & drop in max.. it works in photoshop btw. Also inside 3ds max all windows are working as they where in win7 and if I run 3d max by itself drag and drop still isn't working.
Zbrush and all smaller apps are working as it was win7 and i feel it has more options for mulit display settings comparing to win7, for switch stereo 3D in desktops resolution setup on my 3rd screen. It must be something in 3ds max I guess..
__________________

 
Old 11-21-2012, 09:43 PM   #11
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcidBoyXL
well.. lack of drag and drop its not a matter of dual screen setup or these limitations you pointed in the article.. , 3d max and photoshop run well on 2 screens and all seems to be as it was, besides drag & drop in max.. it works in photoshop btw. Also inside 3ds max all windows are working as they where in win7 and if I run 3d max by itself drag and drop still isn't working.
Zbrush and all smaller apps are working as it was win7 and i feel it has more options for mulit display settings comparing to win7, for switch stereo 3D in desktops resolution setup on my 3rd screen. It must be something in 3ds max I guess..


Your own problems aside, this is a relief. My jaw dropped with incredulity when I read that part of the article. I simply couldn't believe this was the case; and thankfully you've pointed out that it isn't. Personally I should get another few years out of 7 yet, having only switched over from XP a few months back. Once I have an established, stable OS up and running the programs I need without any major problems I don't see the need to have the latest bells and whistles if it's not tried and tested with 3D work in mind.
 
Old 08-10-2013, 02:55 AM   #12
JamesMcConnell1
New Member
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcidBoyXL
Hi,

anyone else having a problem with drag & drop under Windows 8?

Mine isn't working at all, appears that whole Max window is inactive for that function, can't drop any files into max, scenes, maps, all kind of 3d formats :/
I've tried to run both as a administrator and in compatibility modes, anyone on Win8 ?

Regards
I have discovered from reading a previous post here, that running 3ds max as administrator will inhibit dragging and dropping just go to properties and permissions and unclick Run as Adm...
 
Old 08-10-2013, 02:55 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.