CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Unhappy Light "spots" problem (Vray)

Hello!
I've been having this problem now with this one scene rendering. It's basically that on the walls and some other things like curtains are appearing those weird light spots (on renders). I am using 3Ds Max 2009 and Vray 1.50.
I can't seem to find a setting which causes this, so I am attaching a test render so you can see how it looks like:

Can anybody help me with this? Thank you!
 
Old 11-18-2012, 05:17 PM   #2
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Double post...

Last edited by musashidan : 11-18-2012 at 05:21 PM.
 
Old 11-18-2012, 05:19 PM   #3
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
What lights are in the scene? what GI engines are you using? What are your GI settings? It's less of a guessing game if you supply more data...
 
Old 11-18-2012, 05:25 PM   #4
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Thanks for the reply! I am using Mitchel-Netravalli AAF, and GIs are Irradiance Map and Light Cache.
The light on the scene was Vray sphere light.
However I am using Vray plane light on the scene now (behind the windows), but the problem is similar:



You can see the weird light spots behind the clock on the wall and around the windows' edges.
 
Old 11-18-2012, 08:02 PM   #5
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
Is your vray plane light set as a sky portal? What are your vraycam/exposure settings? Are you using LWF?
 
Old 11-18-2012, 08:07 PM   #6
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashidan
Is your vray plane light set as a sky portal? What are your vraycam/exposure settings? Are you using LWF?


The light is not set as sky portal (I don't need that there). I don't use Vraycam now, it's rendered from a normal cam, because I liked the outcome better this way. However I tried rendering it with Vraycam and the problem persisted..
 
Old 11-18-2012, 09:20 PM   #7
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
If you're placing lights outside the window then it's advisable to enable sky portal as this means they'll take on the luminence of the exterior through GI. If they're behaving as regular vray plane lights then they'll completely blowout that back wall causing the hotspots.
 
Old 11-18-2012, 09:23 PM   #8
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashidan
If you're placing lights outside the window then it's advisable to enable sky portal as this means they'll take on the luminence of the exterior through GI. If they're behaving as regular vray plane lights then they'll completely blowout that back wall causing the hotspots.


Thanks for the tip, but I don't think this is the problem, because the spots were pretty clear in the first image, where weren't any lights outside the window, only one sphere light near the ceiling...
 
Old 11-19-2012, 01:46 AM   #9
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
have you tried troubleshooting the scene step by step? Turn off(or delete) all the lights and use a default vraymtl as an over ride. turn of GI.

Now start with your main light. Render. Apply material again. Render. Turn on GI. Render.

sometimes this is the quickest way to trouble shoot a scene rather than tweaking with everything on at the same time. The fact that you're not using LWF or exposure would ring alarm bells for me.
 
Old 11-19-2012, 02:26 PM   #10
metamesh
Expert
 
metamesh's Avatar
portfolio
Alex Huguet
lead Modeller, ILM
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,390

what are the settings for the irradiance map? try setting the Hsph subdivs to a higher value than the default 50, try 80 or 100. also try ticking the "check sample visibility" in the advance options inside the irradiance map otions
 
Old 11-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #11
DaveWortley
<database error>
 
DaveWortley's Avatar
portfolio
David Wortley
Technical Director
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via MSN to DaveWortley
Is your glass affecting GI? It might be better to have it not.
__________________
Maxscript Made Easy...
http://davewortley.wordpress.com/
 
Old 11-19-2012, 05:21 PM   #12
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveWortley
Is your glass affecting GI? It might be better to have it not.


What glass..?
 
Old 11-19-2012, 05:47 PM   #13
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Thank you all for your responses, I've just tried everything you wrote but sadly nothing worked for me...
Here is the result:
I set up higher Hsph subdivs and ticked "check sample visibility":

I tried turning off GI (this is not acceptable later...):

I tried using Vray phys cam:

And even changing to linear mapping:


Do you have any other ideas? It looks really terrible :(
 
Old 11-19-2012, 07:05 PM   #14
Kiwi2703
New Member
 
Kiwi2703's Avatar
portfolio
Viktor Mada
Bratislava, Slovakia
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
This is with default Vray Sun settings:

I don't have a clue what causes this weird light behind the curtains and the clock, and the shadows on the edges of the windows. I have used these render settings many times before and never had this probem..
 
Old 11-19-2012, 08:39 PM   #15
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,814
If you want to upload a stripped down version of the maxscene with only the room/curtains/clock and lighting setup I could take a look at it for you.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.