CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 11:39 AM   #1
wzzm
New Member
Tony
beicork, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Why my gradient in LWF not good?



Hi folks:

PS gradient/ Max Material editor preview / Max Viewport are all fine. But the render is not good. pure black cone is way bigger than the gradient supposed to be. What am I doing wrong? (The red line is just a guild line. The PS "pure black cone" is well within the line. After render, in vray frame buffer, the "pure black cone" is well beyond the line.)
 
Old 10-04-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
CHRiTTeR
On the run!
 
CHRiTTeR's Avatar
Chris
Graphic designer extraordinaire
Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,391
can you post pictures pls of how it looks in photoshop, material editor, viewport and final render?
 
Old 10-04-2012, 12:33 PM   #3
wzzm
New Member
Tony
beicork, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks for the reply. Seems for some reason you can not view the picture I put above my message( or is it only me who can view it? strange). Here is the link to the picture acepoly.com/so black.jpg

Regards
 
Old 10-04-2012, 08:49 PM   #4
CHRiTTeR
On the run!
 
CHRiTTeR's Avatar
Chris
Graphic designer extraordinaire
Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,391
link doesnt work either
 
Old 10-04-2012, 11:43 PM   #5
wzzm
New Member
Tony
beicork, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
 
Old 10-04-2012, 11:49 PM   #6
japetus
3D Trickster
 
japetus's Avatar
portfolio
Mike Hanson
3D Artist
[:|] Straightface Studios
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,454
The latest link isn't working for me either...but the first thing that comes to mind is did you turn on the little sRGB button on the bottom of the vray frame buffer? It can be off sometimes and things will look really dark because they aren't being displayed in the correct colorspace.
__________________
Personal: www.japetusproductions.com
Work:Straightface Studios

 
Old 10-05-2012, 12:25 AM   #7
wzzm
New Member
Tony
beicork, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Sorry, I know the link does not work now. It works for me(from cache?) I am working on my server now. Please wait a little while.
I did tick the srgb button, by the way. Let me get my server working properly first.
 
Old 10-05-2012, 02:31 AM   #8
japetus
3D Trickster
 
japetus's Avatar
portfolio
Mike Hanson
3D Artist
[:|] Straightface Studios
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,454
If you are not using a sRGB colorspace in photoshop or you might have to specify in Max what gamma you want the image to load. When you load the bitmap there should be an option in the file menu where you select the specific bitmap, to "Use Image Gamma." This could also fix the problem. Try the other options as well if that doesn't work and see what happens.
__________________
Personal: www.japetusproductions.com
Work:Straightface Studios

 
Old 10-05-2012, 04:31 AM   #9
wzzm
New Member
Tony
beicork, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8

Here is the illustration. Any ideas?
 
Old 10-05-2012, 08:27 AM   #10
musashidan
Bar Stool Enthusiast
 
musashidan's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel McGrath
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,818

your Max gamma input is set to 2.2 so you have to check the 'override 1.0' radio button when you import the texture, as it's a grayscale image.

What about using a gradient map set to radial?

Also, don't forget that the 0-1 colour space has a much different gradation when in Linear.
(See image above)

Last edited by musashidan : 10-05-2012 at 08:31 AM.
 
Old 10-05-2012, 12:20 PM   #11
wzzm
New Member
Tony
beicork, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks folks. It seems the "colors level correction" under vray frame buffer is the culprit. the left most black triangle - though saying "+0.00" can be moved a little but still displaying it as "+0.00", but the blackness changed a lot after moving this little bit.
Turn off the colors level correction and everything seems to be ok now.
Thanks again guys.
 
Old 10-05-2012, 12:20 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.