CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Issue with vray hdri render (models show blue tint)

Hi all,

I cannot, for the life of me, figure out why I cannot get rid of this blue tint on my vehicle renders. I'm using the latest version of vray, as well as 3ds max 2012. Everything is set and the hdri is rendering as it should outside of the blue tint on my models. Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks!
 
Old 09-26-2012, 10:22 AM   #2
metamesh
Expert
 
metamesh's Avatar
portfolio
Alex Huguet
lead Modeller, ILM
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,389

are you using an vray camera? if so, check the white balance colour and set it to pure white
 
Old 09-26-2012, 12:06 PM   #3
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Hi metamesh,

Thanks for the reply. Yes, I have that set to white in my settings but it still shows up as blue. Here is an example of the blue tint. Hopefully this will help additionally.



And yes, I have changed the material to an actual material, however, that blue tint is still present.



Also, I have been following this tutorial and im showing the same results up to step 19. http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/au...s-max-and-vray/



This guy has skipped many steps and doesnt go into how to fix the blue tint, however, he claims that moving the hdri around fixed it. That is definitely not the case as I have tried that.

Thanks!

Last edited by hairston630 : 09-26-2012 at 12:10 PM.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 12:18 PM   #4
metamesh
Expert
 
metamesh's Avatar
portfolio
Alex Huguet
lead Modeller, ILM
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,389

is it possible that you have ur hdri as screen on the environment mapping options?
 
Old 09-26-2012, 01:54 PM   #5
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,634
As Alex said you Background is set to screen (can tell by the ground lines being reflected in the wheels, and refraction in the glass). If you want to go this route you need to override the GI and Reflection/refraction controls in the Vray render options.

FYI, I would not recommend that tutorial as it is appears to have more wrong than right in how you should use the current vray renderer to get good results.

To fix the white point you need to set the white point of the camera to a value that is closest to what you want white. In your case it will probably be a temperature value between 5000 and 6500 (blue color), or one of the correspond presets (Daylight, D50, D65, etc).

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 09-26-2012, 04:34 PM   #6
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Thank you both for the prompt responses. I prefer to go the most logical route. Is there a better tutorial that would supplement vehicle rendering? Something thats a bit more accurate? Also, what should I have the HDRI set to in the environment tab? If its set to screen now, what should I change it to?

Thank you again!
 
Old 09-26-2012, 05:20 PM   #7
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,634
It really depends on the map. In most cases it should be set to spherical.

There is not a car tutorial. There are various notes and tutorials on rendering with Vray. Examples are:
Demystifying V-ray DMC Sampler
Color Mapping and Gamma

You should learn how best to use the renderer and then use that knowledge to get the results you want for specific usages.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 09-26-2012, 06:29 PM   #8
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Excellent. Thank you so much. Ill apply all of this tonight when I get home from work. I have rep'd you all for your assistance. Greatly appreciated.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 09:45 PM   #9
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by metamesh
is it possible that you have ur hdri as screen on the environment mapping options?


Ok, is this located in vray: environment tab or somewhere else? I cant see where you would change from screen to normal.

Thank you again.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 10:03 PM   #10
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,634
It is part of the bitmap controls.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 09-27-2012, 12:05 AM   #11
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Ok, I changed environment coordinates to spherical environment and its producing the same blue tinted model render. Mind is officially blown.
 
Old 09-27-2012, 12:49 AM   #12
nmcelmury
Im here a lot
 
nmcelmury's Avatar
portfolio
Nicholas McElmury
Generalist
Magic Pictures
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 847
I'm not a VRay user, but if you happen to have a skylight in your scene, check to make sure the color is set to white, or you have your HDRI map plugged into it. That's probably not the problem, but it might be worth taking a look at.

If I'm not mistaken, skylight's get set to a faint blue by default.
__________________

www.nickmcelmury.com

"The best things in life are either illegal, fattening, or take too long to render."
 
Old 09-27-2012, 01:04 AM   #13
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmcelmury
I'm not a VRay user, but if you happen to have a skylight in your scene, check to make sure the color is set to white, or you have your HDRI map plugged into it. That's probably not the problem, but it might be worth taking a look at.

If I'm not mistaken, skylight's get set to a faint blue by default.


Thank you but I already set that to white to no avail. I truly am stumped. I may just have to start the project all over from scratch with another tutorial.
 
Old 09-27-2012, 04:17 AM   #14
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,634
Change your White point to a bluish color or temperature on the camera, not white. If the HDR is generating a bluish color you need to set your white point to a similar color.

Please post a screen shot of your dome light and camera settings.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 09-27-2012, 05:10 AM   #15
hairston630
New Member
portfolio
Hairston
Jacksonville, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiXeL_MoNKeY
Change your White point to a bluish color or temperature on the camera, not white. If the HDR is generating a bluish color you need to set your white point to a similar color.

Please post a screen shot of your dome light and camera settings.

-Eric


Here you go and thank you. I also used the vray physical camera and changed those settings as you requested and its still doing the same thing.

 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.